• Help
Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By robmac
  • 2 Post By robmac
  • 2 Post By driven
  • 1 Post By Andrew Watkins

Thread: Replace Head Bolts - 404?

Default Replace Head Bolts - 404?

Whilst reading through workshop manual re: reassembling the motor, I notice the following (see below). It states that for engines prior to 1968, the head bolts should be replaced. I have never done or heard of this before, has anyone any thoughts on why this is required.

I'd appreciate any feedback as to why the factory deemed this necessary.

Cheers,

Advertisement

Dano

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a 404.jpg 
Views:	387 
Size:	103.9 KB 
ID:	78673
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Replace Head Bolts - 404?-404-head-bolts.jpg   Replace Head Bolts - 404?-404-head-bolt-question.jpg  

I have read that too but in the past when doing a minor KF2 404 engine rebuild I have (apparently) successfully reused head bolts. Sourcing a set these days of NOS bolts would be difficult, I think. But if you find a source, please let me know!
    1966 Peugeot 404 Coupť Injection post-restoration reassembly underway!
    Register your 404: https://recensement.leclub404.com/submit.php

I've never replaced head bolts, never had one strip or break.

But I do run a chaser tap down all bolt holes in the head, and have fitted timeserts to suspect bolt holes and replaced corroded head bolts with "good used spares".

Time-Sert Thread Repair - Helicoil Alternative- Cross Tools Co

I also blow out the holes in the block and use lanolin on the bolt threads.

PS: If you feel replacement is necessary, you may find a HT bolt or cap screw to do the job.

Cheers Mike and Robmac,

Good advice Robmac, had thought of all the suggestions, except the Lanolin. I like it.

As both said, I've never replaced them either, just thought I'd throw it out there. From memory though, it was also recommended for the early 504 Diesels engines.

Cheers,

Dan