• Register
  • Help
Like Tree8Likes
  • 4 Post By Dano
  • 3 Post By Mike Tippett
  • 1 Post By Peter C

Thread: 403 Resto Colour Choice

Default 403 Resto Colour Choice

I am well advanced in the restoration of my 1955 403 displayed at the 1955 Sydney Motor Show. It was built slightly before full production began along with a couple of other right hand drives and mine was shipped down under. As far as I can determine the other RH drives made at the time have not survived elsewhere in the world. This is possibly the oldest car surviving. Peugeot checked the serial number with me 3 times before they gave me the build details.

My reason for posting is to seek input on colour. The car was originally sprayed light blue, not an original pug colour as far as I can tell, I suspect it was a colour selected for the show. When I started painting things some time back I chose an orginal shade blue/green used with the release of the 403 Cabriolet. I am now having second thoughts, and reverting to as close as I can get to the original colour, which will most likely be an early Holden or ford blue.

So I thought a small poll would help me decide... Original as displayed in Ozz, or Le Bleu genuine ? The latter is far more attractive, but ....

Thanks Guys

Advertisement

That's a question close to my heart right now! Our 1951 Renault 750 is in for serious painting for the first time, since 1951 that is. Colour was the source of a family debate and vote. I wanted battleship grey, the car's original colour, but I was outvoted in a block (wife + daughter) to leave it something like the deep blue it has been since 1966.

A good friend argues, with merit, that grey is the go, observing that "the soul of the car is grey", and I agree with that. But grey isn't perceived as the soul of the car by the majority of stakeholders!!