Vibratechnics Engine Mounts for 206
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Brett

Thread: Vibratechnics Engine Mounts for 206

  1. #1
    Member superpug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    55

    Default Vibratechnics Engine Mounts for 206

    Hi guys, I'm replacing the engine mounts on my GTi180 (two of them are shot so may as well do all of them). I ordered Vibra Technics "performance" mounts for the right hand and gearbox mount but am unsure what I should use to replace the torque bush with.

    Advertisement


    I am wary to go the vibra technics torque bush as the only one they offer (PUG301B) is listed as a track only mount and I don't want to risk vibrating my teeth out of it's too hard. Has anyone experienced these mounts before or know a good one to go? I'm happy for a bit of extra vibration for good response.

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    617

    Default

    I have changed all three to competition mounts in my track car.
    The vibration level increases, but is not unbearably to me.
    The noise level increase is more dramatic, but still not to race car levels.

    Thanks,

    Brett
    superpug likes this.
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    958

    Default

    In addition to the extra noise, did you notice any improvements?

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger! Brett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    617

    Default

    I never drove the 206GTI180 with out VibraTechnics mounts so it is difficult to say.
    The 206GTI138 with road mounts I drive has more noticeable engine movement during gear changes.
    Bathurst______2 57.22 Sandown_______1 35.29
    Mallala_______1 22.90 Phillip Island____1 56.41
    Winton_______1.43.90 Collingrove_______38.08
    The Bend_____2 21.96

    https://www.facebook.com/FrogstompRacing/

    http://www.harlandeng.com.au

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts pgti6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,618

    Default

    I've not used VibraTechnics mounts only BakerBBM ones, but considering the lower rear mount is referred to as a 'vibration dampener', I'd be wary about fitting anything other than a genuine PSA one in a road car.
    Track car-Steel Grey 405 Mi16 2.2 litre


    405 Track car build thread moved to-
    http://forum.205gtidrivers.com/index...ic=143279&st=0

    Lap times-
    Sandown 1 27.9
    Phillip Island 1 53.8

    Previous Frenchies-
    1988 205Gti
    1998 306 GTi6
    1997 306 N5 sedan
    1996 306 N3 XT hatch
    1976 Renault R16TS manual in Avocado
    1976 Renault R16TS manual in Trak Yellow
    1975 Renault 5 Guernsey, Channel Islands
    1972 Renault 4 Guernsey, Channel Islands

  6. #6
    sans witticism SLC206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    North Parramatta
    Posts
    3,997

    Default

    I know of a few people that fitted a competition lwr mount. From memory it was great for a little bit but they quickly went back to a "normal" lwr mount.

    I've not driven a car with one, so I'm not sure. I would think the 180 rides hard enough as it is without making it worse
    Regards,

    Simon

    2018 308 GTi 2011 DS3 DSport
    ----
    2014 208 GTi 2007 207 GTi 2004 206 GTi180 2000 206 GTi 1995 306 XT

    www.peugeotclub.asn.au

  7. #7
    Member superpug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    55

    Default

    I've just had a good look at them today and it looks like the "lower vibration damper" has been replaced recently with a genuine item. However the top RH is completely shot so I am awaiting my new vibratechnics Road mounts from demon tweaks. Also going to do the gearbox mount while I'm at it, can't hurt.

  8. #8
    Member superpug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Okay so I put in the new mounts today but the gearbox one didn't fit . Replacing the RH made a huge improvement but there is still a bit to go as the tranny mount is pretty shot. The stud that the tranny mount fits onto is too big for the vibratechincs mount as I try to slide it down to the bottom (by at least 2mm width!) Did is my mounting kit missing a part or have they sent me the wrong one all together?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •