Mobil1 VS. Castrol FMX Magnatec
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Icon5 Mobile1 VS. Castrol FMX Magnatech

I have 1998 306 XSI Pug.
    I'm planing to get big 60,000km service and thinking about changing the Engine Oil.
    I went out and did some research on engine oils (since I have no knowledge about engine oil, whatsoever.) and it seems that people love Mobile1.
    But when I went to service department, they said If I change to Mobile1 or any other full synthetic oil, it will desolve into rings and oil level will drop quicker than FMX. So, they don't like Mobile1, I assumed.
    So, I was wondering what other pug owners think about this dilema.
    Should I change to Mobile1 (expensive but better quality???) or stick to Castrol FMX (decent price and quality???).

Also, service department mentioned that if I change to Mobile1, I can not go back to FMX. Is it true?

Advertisement

And while you think about this matter can anyone suggest a good car service place, tuning place and bodywork place in melbourne for 306 pug owners.

Welcome,

Mobli1 (both semi-synth and fully synthetic) are great products. Track proven, years of research has gone into them and they will not damage your car. Keep in mind they do have carbon dissolving properties and on worn engines you may loose the compression when the carbon gets cleaned away. (seen it happen to neighbours car with huge kms when he though he could do something "nice" for the car... plumes of white smoke followed him within 1 week).

Castrol FMX..... I could not find any reference to FMX on castrol website. Did you mean Magnatec? or VMX? If you mean Maganatec im not sure how you can compare those two oils. Apples and oranges....

Either way for everyday driving correct viscosity oil is a must. If you go with quality product from Mobil, Castol, Shell, Amsoil, ELF, BP etc you wont go wrong.