308 Brake lights
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    WA Perth
    Posts
    15

    Default 308 Brake lights

    Man, this drives me mad :-)
    Brake lights, L and R, are not working only middle one is OK. Checked all fuses, all globes and they are all right.
    Where to start?
    Cheers from WA

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Contented Peugeot Driver addo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Don't remind me!
    Posts
    16,609

    Default

    On your BSI, the three lights are each fed separately - probably the 40-way white plug on the BSI; look at pins 14-15-16, likely wire codes 2100 and 2101.

    Each cluster is earthed separately; I am assuming the earths are OK (put on parklights, rear fogs and hazards, look for pulsing in time with the flashers).

    I think you can also do an actuator test with Planet.

  3. #3
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    WA Perth
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thank you addo,
    I don't have Planet , or PP2000 ....it looks like it is time to get them ASAP
    Checked other lights. Everything is ok. Earths are ok.

  4. #4
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    WA Perth
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Could not find any relays at all.

  5. #5
    Contented Peugeot Driver addo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Don't remind me!
    Posts
    16,609

    Default

    There's almost certainly a solid state relay inside the BSI, it's probably the fairly contemporary version with rubberised epoxy slapped over everything. You don't have a towbar harness on the car?

  6. #6
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    WA Perth
    Posts
    15

    Default

    No towbar harness .
    I am thinking of using middle brake light to drive relay and bring live from somewhere to it . Cut original wires and bring new ones from relay.
    Would you change brake switch first ?
    Thanks again Addo , cheers.

  7. #7
    Fellow Frogger! Meggsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    351

    Default

    Problem with doing that is the CAN Bus (BSI) will interpret the additional load as a fault - hence when you install a towbar you need additional wiring with a relay box
    Meggsy
    Current - 4007HDi
    Had - 407 HDI 406 SV 404, 504, 505 GR and STI. 405 GR ( carbie version) STI, MI16
    And an Austin 1800
    Learnt to drive in 203 Convertible and a 403 SW

  8. #8
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    WA Perth
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hmm... thank you Meggsy.
    308 XSE 2.0 HID 2009

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •