Peugeot 405 Mi16 Series 2 for sale / opinions wanted.
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Default Peugeot 405 Mi16 Series 2 for sale / opinions wanted.

Hi guys,
    As the title says, there is one of these for sale at a local car yard. I'm new to 405's, but always liked the Mi16's. It's build date is May '94. I checked it out today. Body and paint is in very good condition. Sorrento Green i think you call the colour. Straight car, passenger door looks like it has dropped or something though. Partial luxury pack by the looks of it. Leather seats, ABS.
    Speaking to the owner of the car yard, he couldn't provide any documents of the maintenance history of the car. All he did know is that it needs a new head gasket. It also needs a new left front headlight, which is totally smashed. Looking at it myself, the front brake pads are shot, different brands of tyres on every wheel, one with no tread. Black oil when checking the dipstick. Murky milky sludge when taking the oil cap off, and having a look. Oil around the outside of the oil cap too.
    Everything else looked neat and tidy under the bonnet. Obviously the cambelt would need changing, having no records of when it was last done. And obviously entering unknown territory with no records of what work has EVER been done mechanically. He is wanting $1995 as is, and wouldn't move from that figure. Potentially could cost $$$$ to get it on the road. So my question is to you 405 guys, and old PUG guys in general. What do you think? Should i wait for a better example mechanically? It's a damn nice looking example.

Advertisement

Cheers Dave
    Last edited by dave 306; 6th December 2012 at 12:58 AM.
    2000 306 GTi6 China Blue

1998 306 Style Dragoon Blue (Workhorse 220,000K's)

If the rest is that dodgy, I'd check the paint isn't tarted up somehow!