Repair or scrap? 306 GTi-6
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Tadpole

Default Repair or scrap? 306 GTi-6

Hi everyone,

To cut a long story short I was driving back to Canberra from Sydney early in the morning and hit a roo at about 80km/h. Needless to say my GTi-6 didn't enjoy the collision. I've taken some photos and sent them to panel beaters in Canberra who reckon it will cost me around $3k to replace the radiator, fan, lower tie bar, and power sterring pump. Being an uninsured student I'm not sure if this it's worth saving her, even though I've spent thousands sorting her out with Maurice at PQ Automotive. She's in beautiful mechanical condition but aesthetically not the best having lived outside for the past 6 years.

The car is being towed back (with me in the truck) in about an hour.

At this point I'm almost tempted to throw in the towell, sell the engine and the chassis/suspension and buy a 205 GTi for a couple of grand on top of what I would have paid for repairs.

What would you do if it was your money?

Cheers,

Advertisement

Chris

They'd be alot of interest in parts and you'd recoup some of the costs in wrecking.

My previous car was hit by the Melbourne hail storm on Christmas then a week later it was involved in a head on collision. I had No insurance so I was left with no other option. In the end I made almost as much in part sales than it was worth complete.

Also, I'm not sure how much interest they'd be in Canberra, so posting my be a hassle. And, it's a long and lengthy process so be prepared for some dirty work.
    Last edited by moeozz; 26th November 2012 at 11:57 AM.

Tadpole

Yeah, it's just that if I do end up forking out for the work all that needs doing is the timing belt in another 10,000km, other than that the car is very tight to drive. She's only done 140,000km and should be set for at least another 50,000km once the timing belt is done.

Default Repair or scrap? 306 GTi-6

Fix the 6!