WTD 8v sump
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: WTD 8v sump

  1. #1
    1000+ Posts djvu205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    3550
    Posts
    1,401

    Default WTD 8v sump

    just wondering if anyone has a 8v sump they want to sell that doesnt leak. out of the 3 i have tried they all have small cracks and slow leaks. i even had the xu10 sump i have welded up and it still leaks. the guy didnt do a great job on it though. he also said its very hard to find all the hairline cracks it may have?

    im finding that most of them have been overtightened and leaking around the bolt holes.

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts cam85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bondi
    Posts
    3,365

    Default

    I have one. Will remove it this afternoon and inspect it as best I can and see if it leaks. As far as I'm aware, it did not leak. There is a trick/nack to getting to seal apparently...

    Cam
    94 205 Gti Classic #9
    91 205 Si
    87 205 GTi Race Car
    http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/res...-race-car.html

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger! chez00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    567

    Default

    I have one bead blasted and cleaned almost certain it doesn't leak. Let me know if you want it, make an offer.
    1988 205 GTi XU10J4
    2001 406 Monaco 5sp V6

  4. #4
    1000+ Posts djvu205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    3550
    Posts
    1,401

    Default

    just realized i have a s3 finned sump on a motor in corner of shed will that fit as per normal without the spacer?

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts cam85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bondi
    Posts
    3,365

    Default

    Think u still need the spacer for strength of the block? Finned sump from mi16 maybe?
    94 205 Gti Classic #9
    91 205 Si
    87 205 GTi Race Car
    http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/res...-race-car.html

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts djvu205's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    3550
    Posts
    1,401

    Default

    the sump i have is a s3 205 sump on a s3 motor, im hoping i can use it without the spacer on my si motor.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •