Car Stereo Problem
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
Results 1 to 25 of 34
  1. #1
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default Car Stereo Problem

    Hi Guys,

    Got a strange problem with the stereo in the Pug. The audio keeps cutting out, will play for 2 seconds, and then out for 4 seconds. It's very consistent.

    The headunit shows that signal is still being read from the radio or CD, as it has a graphic display that moves in time with the music. Gimicky, but at least it tells me the unit is receiving a signal!

    The amp has a power light and does not fluctuate as it cuts in and out. I've replaced the fuses on the unit to no avail. All plugs appear to be OK.

    It's an Alpine CD head unit and an Alpine MRV-405 Amp.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers,

    Lincoln

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger! Andreas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,200

    Default

    check the earth on the amp, might not be securely screwed down.

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger! Reno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    yar, sounds like a bad earth.... loose contact.

  4. #4
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    to the amp it's secure. i don't install stereo stuff myself, what is the earth secured to normally?

  5. #5
    Fellow Frogger! Andreas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,200

    Default

    you'll have two larger wires going to the amp.
    one will be for power coming from the battery possibly via a distribution block or inline fuse holder.
    the other is the earth and will be screwed down to bare metal in the car somewhere, if the connection is loose the amp wont work.

  6. #6
    Real cars have hydraulics DoubleChevron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Ballarat,Vic,Aust.
    Posts
    16,750

    Default

    Could be the speaker wires shorting somewhere too. This will cause the headunit/amp to shutdown temporarily ...

    seeya,
    Shane L.
    'Cit' homepage:
    Citroen Workshop
    Proper cars--
    '85 Series II CX2500 GTi Turbo I
    '63 ID19 http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/citro%EBn-forum/90325-best-project-car-you-have-ever-seen.html
    '72 DS21 ie 5spd pallas (last looked at ... about 15years ago)
    '78 GS1220 pallas
    '92 Range Rover Classic ... 5spd manual.

    Yay ... No Slugomatics


    Modern Junk:
    '07 Poogoe 407 HDi 6spd manual

  7. #7
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andreas
    you'll have two larger wires going to the amp.
    one will be for power coming from the battery possibly via a distribution block or inline fuse holder.
    the other is the earth and will be screwed down to bare metal in the car somewhere, if the connection is loose the amp wont work.
    power is coming from a line with an inline fuse holder. the earth cable i can follow to the seat frame, near the wheel arch, attached to some metal.

  8. #8
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleChevron
    Could be the speaker wires shorting somewhere too. This will cause the headunit/amp to shutdown temporarily ...

    seeya,
    Shane L.
    all of the speakers are cutting out. I've tried disconnecting the speakers one set at a time and swapping them around to no avail

  9. #9
    Fellow Frogger! Andreas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,200

    Default

    well if the earth is fine could be the remote wire coming loose.
    doesnt sound like anything major, just a loose contact somewhere.

    do you know if the amp is staying on or is it shutting down?
    ...just read the light stays on so it's not going to protection....

  10. #10
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andreas
    well if the earth is fine could be the remote wire coming loose.
    doesnt sound like anything major, just a loose contact somewhere.

    do you know if the amp is staying on or is it shutting down?
    ...just read the light stays on so it's not going to protection....
    The amp stays on. Power light remains on. Checking the remote wire now...

  11. #11
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    remote wire had frayed a bit, so i took it out and reattached it, still no change Except I think it's resetting after 3 seconds instead of 4...

  12. #12
    1000+ Posts Damien Gardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wendouree Vic. Aust
    Posts
    2,436

    Default

    Quote"
    Got a strange problem with the stereo in the Pug. The audio keeps cutting out, will play for 2 seconds, and then out for 4 seconds. It's very consistent.

    The headunit shows that signal is still being read from the radio or CD, as it has a graphic display that moves in time with the music. Gimicky, but at least it tells me the unit is receiving a signal!

    The amp has a power light and does not fluctuate as it cuts in and out. I've replaced the fuses on the unit to no avail. All plugs appear to be OK.

    It's an Alpine CD head unit and an Alpine MRV-405 Amp.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers,

    Lincoln
    End quote

    Lincoln,
    Your description, sounds very much like thermal shutdown, of the output stage.
    This occurance will not effect anything before the output amp, being IC Transistors or what ever, many things can cause it, like Shorts in speaker cabling, Too high a speaker load, or simply not enough ventilation, to cool the amp, if this were the case a 12v computer cooling fan, blowing over the amp cooling fins, will work wonders. Keep in mind the higer the wattage. eg 200W x 2 means the amp is producing 400Watts of heat on full load and most likely would be too hot to touch.
    hope you find your problem soon.
    Health and good fortune always,
    Damien.

    We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
    We ran to the sounds of thunder.
    We danced among the lightning bolts,
    and tore the R10's assfromunder.

    Robert Jordan & memyself&I

    1/48th Scale Alpine A310,
    N-scale 1/160th Renault & Citroen, Advert. Signs & Billboards

  13. #13
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    If it did overheat, would it cause this ongoing problem? The carwas used to move house the other day and was covered with a blanket for a bit to avoid scratching it up...

    The amp isn't hot when this is happening. The car is sitting in the garage now and hasn't been used all day...problem has been around for a couple weeks

  14. #14
    1000+ Posts Damien Gardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wendouree Vic. Aust
    Posts
    2,436

    Default

    Does it do it from switch on or after a while?
    Health and good fortune always,
    Damien.

    We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
    We ran to the sounds of thunder.
    We danced among the lightning bolts,
    and tore the R10's assfromunder.

    Robert Jordan & memyself&I

    1/48th Scale Alpine A310,
    N-scale 1/160th Renault & Citroen, Advert. Signs & Billboards

  15. #15
    1000+ Posts Damien Gardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wendouree Vic. Aust
    Posts
    2,436

    Default

    Did it start whilst covered with a blanket?
    Health and good fortune always,
    Damien.

    We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
    We ran to the sounds of thunder.
    We danced among the lightning bolts,
    and tore the R10's assfromunder.

    Robert Jordan & memyself&I

    1/48th Scale Alpine A310,
    N-scale 1/160th Renault & Citroen, Advert. Signs & Billboards

  16. #16
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Damien Gardner
    Does it do it from switch on or after a while?
    From switch

    Quote Originally Posted by Damien Gardner
    Did it start whilst covered with a blanket?
    I believe so. Was only a cotton doona cover... for around an hour
    Last edited by GTI124; 30th November 2003 at 12:03 AM.

  17. #17
    1000+ Posts Damien Gardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wendouree Vic. Aust
    Posts
    2,436

    Default

    Several circumstances can cause it, if it has a fault it will trip the internal heat sensor, and will display intermitant characteristics. However if the outputs have been damaged the amp could well display this effect permanently.
    Health and good fortune always,
    Damien.

    We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
    We ran to the sounds of thunder.
    We danced among the lightning bolts,
    and tore the R10's assfromunder.

    Robert Jordan & memyself&I

    1/48th Scale Alpine A310,
    N-scale 1/160th Renault & Citroen, Advert. Signs & Billboards

  18. #18
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Damien Gardner
    Several circumstances can cause it, if it has a fault it will trip the internal heat sensor, and will display intermitant characteristics. However if the outputs have been damaged the amp could well display this effect permanently.
    I would've thought it'd just blow a fuse if it had overheated.

    Also, the problem was just intermittent cutting out on the radio. The current problem happened a couple days later...

  19. #19
    1000+ Posts Damien Gardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wendouree Vic. Aust
    Posts
    2,436

    Default

    Sounds like it might be worth while having a chat with a tech specialising in auto Amps.
    My field is PA desks/amps, band equip & broadcast equipment and Transmitters up to 13kW, with 2BOB Radio Taree and 3CCCFM Bendigo
    Health and good fortune always,
    Damien.

    We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
    We ran to the sounds of thunder.
    We danced among the lightning bolts,
    and tore the R10's assfromunder.

    Robert Jordan & memyself&I

    1/48th Scale Alpine A310,
    N-scale 1/160th Renault & Citroen, Advert. Signs & Billboards

  20. #20
    1000+ Posts Damien Gardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wendouree Vic. Aust
    Posts
    2,436

    Default

    BIG Question Was there any synthetic materials anywhere near it?
    Health and good fortune always,
    Damien.

    We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
    We ran to the sounds of thunder.
    We danced among the lightning bolts,
    and tore the R10's assfromunder.

    Robert Jordan & memyself&I

    1/48th Scale Alpine A310,
    N-scale 1/160th Renault & Citroen, Advert. Signs & Billboards

  21. #21
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    Thanks mate, appreciate the effort.

    Thanks Andreas and Julian too! I'm sure Tonia has kicked something loose under the dash somewhere. I'l have a good look under the dash there

  22. #22
    1000+ Posts CHRI'S16's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,298

    Default

    Lincon, sounds like the A/V socket music output from the head unit, Thermal shut down on those series alpine amps takes a while (5mins++) to return to normal. So with out looking at it... to me the fact that its consistent and it happens reguraless of source (is cd/radio) then the output transistors couldbe a little shot....
    306's don't put the head unit i a good position, when looked at from a heat point of view, its got very few places to go, and if tanya parks outside in a hot day it can cause the head unit to have bit of heat stroke...
    Thats a worse case cenario. do the little things first, check all plugs are tight and all leads in tight, also at the battery terminals and all wiring all nice and tight, check the fuse holder, the plug in the back of the head unit if possible etc.
    Then if no avail seek help. cheers chris
    ... ptui!

  23. #23
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    Problem is I don't have the key thingy to rmeove the head unit for the Alpine. So I can't pull out the head unit and check. Do you have one?

  24. #24
    1000+ Posts brenno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    2035
    Posts
    1,937

    Default

    Linc,

    I think I have an Alpine MRV1005 around here somewhere that you can swap to see if the amp is causing the problem.

    You'd have to pick it up as I'm finding it hard to get around at the moment.

    BC

  25. #25
    who? when? huh? GTI124's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gordon, NSW
    Posts
    4,527

    Default

    thanks Brenno!

    In looking around the car, Tonia discovered a under seat compartment on the paseenger's side. In it we found all of the manuals and log books the previous owner thought were lost! I never knew that was there. Is this a normal feature on the 306?

Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •