Automotive Journalists
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    Fellow Frogger!

Automotive Journalists

Who are automotive journalists? Are they journalists who like cars or are they car guys who like to write?

Its a shame so many of the car reviews I read aren't very informative, they don't really say anything. We have people on this board like Rod Hagen who have driven many, many different types of vehicles, have excellent driving skills and write very well, but people like that don't seem to be writing these car reviews.

What is the best "car magazine" in Australia?

<small>[ 01 October 2003, 09:13 PM: Message edited by: Jamesnj ]</small>

Advertisement

I'm an automotive journalist, but I mainly write about motor racing or racing cars.

There are a number of well-respected motoring journalists in Australia. And a number of jerks who fell into the job because they were at a loose end when their predecessor left.

David McKay was one of the best, but he's retired years ago. Mike Kable was an enthusiast who got caught in grooves and developed foibles that showed through in his assessments of cars, ?? Webster was a pest of a kid who knew very little... Mark Fogarty a loudmouth who loved himself.

Peter Jennings in Adelaide is a credible writer today. There are a few of them.

I rally like EVO from the UK. Very informative and well balanced magazine...though this is coming from us "quirky French car" drivers mallet

<small>[ 01 October 2003, 09:37 PM: Message edited by: Brad ]</small>
    B to the R to the A from the D
    1994 MX5 Clubman...are you sure it's not French?

nJm
    I don't think we have one 'quality' mag down here. I find much of the writing biased, never particularly eloquent, and generally boring (yet another Holden vs Ford article). If I ever buy a magazine I'll fork out the extra and buy the british magazine 'CAR'.
    Nick
    1983 Peugeot 505 GR