There's something up with this forum
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 Last
Results 1 to 25 of 71
  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger! vanderaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    457

    There's something up with this forum

    I'm on a piece of wet string (a modem), and I've noticed that forum display takes forever.

    Looking at view -> Source reveals that the site is sending down a lot (and I mean about 250-300 kb) of repeated non-rendered information to the browser.

    Advertisement


    Does someone who has access to the source have a look at the board to determine if they can fix it?

    thanks,
    Andrew
    2003 C3 Exclusive Panoramique auto

  2. #2
    Sue
    Sue is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    33
    Hi all,

    This has put me off visiting. I run an 800mhz machine with ADSL and it's still painfully slow loading up.

    Don't know why I log out each time I leave but I come back to find I'm still logged in?

  3. #3
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,615
    Sue,

    Are you using Safari on an Apple Mac? Safari (Apple's new browser) is still quite buggy - one of its problems is that you can't log out of sites that allow you to log out! If it's a problem, use Internet Explorer.

    Not that I own the site or have any access to it, you'll find that all the 'non-rendered information' is Javascript which this forum software (UBB or Ultimate Bulletin Board) requires to operate.

    We should all be thankful than MarkM (DCSI Internet) hosts the site in Australia for free. For those of us who remember it being hosted in the US, it was unbareably slow!

    There is a small upgrade or two available for UBB but we've talked about this before - the benefits obtained are not really worth gibgib's time at that stage.

    Derek.

  4. #4
    1000+ Posts tekkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,516
    Guys
    have you tried using the "filter"

    Near the top right of your screen is a panel that says display messages from the "last xx days".

    by default it is set to maximum. Drop it to last 2 days and you will only download messages from last fwe days. Even on my ADSL link it makes a huge difference.
    .
    1300cc's of jap buzzbox delivered the times below.

    EC 1:54.6 , Wakefield 1:13.15 , OP (short) 52.00 , OP GP 1:24.40


  5. #5
    Moderator Alan S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    8,923
    I'd like to be able to be a little ray of sunshine but when it comes to 'puters, or TVs with keyboards as I call 'em, I'm a disaster waiting to happen that often does. mallet

    Gibgib I think is away at present & in any case, he's been sin binned by his ISP for being a naughty boy & using what ever they were charging him for or something or other.
    In the past, it has been recommended what tekkie has suggested and I sometimes have to use it here where our telephone infrastructure is one step up on two jam tins with string between.
    When the wandering gibgib returns from his northern adventure, we'll pass the info along for his attention.

    Alan S cheers!
    If it ain't broke, use a 12" shifter.....that usually does the trick!!

  6. #6
    Too many posts! JohnW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Perth, WA, Australia
    Posts
    10,574
    Alan,

    You might consider upgrading the string. I'm told there's a synthetic called nylon that is way ahead of jute!

    I imagine the idea of equal access to telephone services rings a little hollow in your neck of the woods. We're lucky to have an ADSL access for our exchange here in Perth (not all do) and I can vouch for the benefits once it becomes available.

    Cheers

    John
    JohnW

    Renault 4CV 1951
    Renault R8 1965
    Renault Scenic 2005 (wife's)
    Renault Scenic 2007 (mine)
    Renault Scenic 2006 (daughter's)
    CitroŽn CX Pallas 1980

    National Co-ordinator, Renault 4CV Register of Australia

  7. #7
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    6,136
    I have 56k (can't get DSL) and I find it OK - my setup (in your profile) is to display 5 days. The only threads that take ages are those where people post pics in their posting. But those that are mainly text are OK.

    Stuey

    <small>[ 20 February 2003, 09:58 PM: Message edited by: Stuey ]</small>


    2003 PEUGEOT 206 GTi

  8. #8
    Local Tyrant gibgib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    3,515
    G'day all!
    I haven't noticed a difference in speed but I do only check-in in the evenings & it's usually very brief.

    Optus allowed me back on broadband 2 weeks ago.

    The site is throttled to 1024 kbps & has been for some time.
    This is to reduce overall bandwidth as we were entering 25 gigs a month territory a few months ago & was fully endorsed by myself (I actually suggested it).

    Immeasurably grateful to DCSI Internet for copping the whopping throughput

    The forum is not your standard web page as it runs using dynamic CGI scripts.
    This means that the server is constantly creating new web pages upon request from your browser. If aussiefrogs forum traffic is considerable, the serverís processor may be busy compiling & dishing out cgi scripts.

    From memory, the server that aussiefrogs resides is a 500MHz machine.

    As Stuey suggests, set your profile to display 5 days worth of posts if you havenít already. This makes a big difference.

  9. #9
    UFO
    UFO is offline
    CitroŽn Tragic UFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Gerringong, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    9,587
    Or if you are addicted to checking this board AND have a slow link, change the settings to show the last 2 days. frown
    Craig K
    2009 C5 HDi Exclusive

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    S.E Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    262
    I'm on Telstra Cable and since the page was moved locally, it is pretty much instant loading

    ...Maybe it's because i use a Mac
    Jason Judd
    <img border="0" alt="[Peugeot Emblem]" title="" src="graemlins/peugeot.gif" /> '85 505 GTi Executive
    <img border="0" alt="[Peugeot Emblem]" title="" src="graemlins/peugeot.gif" /> '88 205 GL 1.1

  11. #11
    1000+ Posts Damien Gardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wendouree Vic. Aust
    Posts
    2,436
    i'm on optus cable, and i still notice a difference, if i set up for more than 7 days.
    renault_

    Ps: I'm using win98 & internet explorer 6.0

    <small>[ 20 February 2003, 11:22 PM: Message edited by: Damien Gardner ]</small>
    Health and good fortune always,
    Damien.

    We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
    We ran to the sounds of thunder.
    We danced among the lightning bolts,
    and tore the R10's assfromunder.

    Robert Jordan & memyself&I

    1/48th Scale Alpine A310,
    N-scale 1/160th Renault & Citroen, Advert. Signs & Billboards

  12. #12
    Sense Pug307's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,355
    If you visit the forum regularly, probably the best thing to do is to set the forum to show you active threads from the past 2 days. I don't know why the default setting is 45 days - it's ridiculous, and wastes a lot of bandwidth IMHO.

    Other forums I've seen will put say around 20 threads per page - this would be much more efficient.

    I've found the speed to be fine at on Big Pond Cable, and it's fine on Optusnet dial up too.

    Peugeot 307 XS 1.6
    Aussiefrogged in MEL, PER, SYD, BNE & ADL.
    Rendezvous Adelaide 2005

  13. #13
    1000+ Posts tekkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,516
    GibGib,

    Following up on what Pug307 said and the need to cap the bandwidth is it possible to set the default setting to something a lot more approaching weekly usage level. Say 10 days or so. The noobs and casual guests get to load the pages faster, and you get the bandwidth cap you weer searching for.
    .
    1300cc's of jap buzzbox delivered the times below.

    EC 1:54.6 , Wakefield 1:13.15 , OP (short) 52.00 , OP GP 1:24.40


  14. #14
    Local Tyrant gibgib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, Queensland
    Posts
    3,515
    OK I've changed the default setting to 10 days. We'll see how that goes.
    New users seem to read everything in front of them & reply to older threads which was a good thing when we first kicked off.
    Existing users will still need to manually change their default settings, only new members will automatically go 10 days.

  15. #15
    Guru davemcbean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Camden NSW & Selwyn NZ
    Posts
    2,333
    I'm only on a 33kpbs modem and usually have no trouble, though the board has been slow in the past 24 hours.

    One trick which I always use, is when I select a particular board (Peugeot, Renault, General, etc) I wait until the blue "worm" at the bottom of the screen is about 10-25% of the way, and then I press the stop button. This immediately gives me atleast the first 10 threads or so on that board, without having to wait for the whole board to load up.

    I generally find that the 33k modem is plenty fast enough, since so many websites get overloaded and can't send you information any faster than that anyway. when the websites are running properly the pages load almost instantly, even with the 33k modem. The only advantage to a faster connection, which I can think of, is for downloading programs, music, video, movie trailers, etc, but for general web browsing a 33 or 28.8K modem is fine.

    Dave
    NZ Fleet
    1976 504 Ti
    1984 205 GT twin carb
    1991 205 SI 1.6GTI motor
    1994 106 Xsi
    1996 Mondeo V6
    Aus Fleet
    1955 203C
    1997 Civic Cxi (great allrounder- revy, flexible, nimble, comfortable , economical, simple and durable )

  16. #16
    Sense Pug307's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,355
    Even 56kbps modems are noticeably faster than 33.6kbps modems. I certainly notice the difference between Cable & the 56k at work.

    A good ISP makes a difference, and what speed you are used to. Faster modems are especially noticeable when you're dealing with large HTML (eg. forums) or image rich pages.

    Peugeot 307 XS 1.6
    Aussiefrogged in MEL, PER, SYD, BNE & ADL.
    Rendezvous Adelaide 2005

  17. #17
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    6,136
    Deviating slightly, I achieve a consistent 31.2 Kbps on my 56k modem. Anyone have any hints about speeding it up a bit? I know a few people that achieve 46.6 or thereabouts...I know it could be the max on my line, but i'd like to try.

    I wasn't worried until (a) 'er indoors started downloading music and (b) Telstra told me no-go for ADSL/Cable...for the foreseeable future eek!

    Stuey


    2003 PEUGEOT 206 GTi

  18. #18
    Sue
    Sue is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    33
    Evening all.

    I was trying Safari for a while but it still had too many bugs in it.

    Log on tonight was quick, but have changed my settings anyway.

    Will try logging out tonight and see how it goes.

    Sue

  19. #19
    Fellow Frogger! vanderaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    457
    I've done some investigation of the issue. You have some security holes. I'll send you that information privately.

    You do not use mod_gzip, costing you about 10x as much bandwidth (thus 10x as much $$$) as it would otherwise do.

    The generated code is very badly generated, is verbose and has Javascript that will be ignored by most browsers as it's not properly encapsulated by a script tag. By appropriate use of CSS, the TD tags can be made to fit on one line, reducing the volume of data sent by about 10x on top of the lack of compression.

    Also, max_rows in the SQL database should probably be updated so that people don't get forum listings with 1058 threads in them, they get 20-30 threads per page like all other BBS software, again reducing General Chit Chat's bandwidth cost by a factor of 99%.

    So basically, by adjusting the code and SQL data slightly, you can reduce the data output by the server by three orders of magnitude, reducing the load on the server by reducing the amount of work it has to do.

    The nice side effect of saving you about 99% of your bandwidth is that you can greatly speed up our display. Please help us wet piece of stringers who are stuck without any recourse to DSL or cable?

    Andrew
    2003 C3 Exclusive Panoramique auto

  20. #20
    Fellow Frogger! sfrawley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Goolwa SA
    Posts
    328
    Stuey,
    I also can get only 31.2k from a 56k modem. Apparently it's the Telstra hardware on some of the older exchanges and we have to put up with it until they upgrade the exchange.
    Stephen
    '03 P406 HDI
    '16 Renault Master

  21. #21
    Gone Fishin' Ray Bell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Burpengary and Murrumburrah, Qld and NSW
    Posts
    9,223
    I'll go along with vanderaj... he sounds like he knows what he's talking about even if I can barely follow it.

    Last night, on an ADSL hookup, I was taking over 20 minutes to get a page to show beyond the top line.

    This morning, on dial-up with a 56k modem it's tolerable, but still slow.

  22. #22
    1000+ Posts Damien Gardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wendouree Vic. Aust
    Posts
    2,436
    I personally think gibgib has done a great job setting up aussiefrogs & the forum, and in the 2 yrs i've seen the members list grow by over 1000. Naturally this amount oif traffic will slow things down, and going on about 800 meg machines being slow can't be blamed on the forum, the fact is it can't pull data thru wet string or wires any faster than the max speed of the modem, which in turn is often limited by the available bandwidth on your string, cable or phone lines. cheers have a great weekend.

    cheers!
    Health and good fortune always,
    Damien.

    We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
    We ran to the sounds of thunder.
    We danced among the lightning bolts,
    and tore the R10's assfromunder.

    Robert Jordan & memyself&I

    1/48th Scale Alpine A310,
    N-scale 1/160th Renault & Citroen, Advert. Signs & Billboards

  23. #23
    1000+ Posts silverexec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    1,001
    I have noticed recently during peak times like early evenings, the board slows down considerably. It takes ages to open up pages that were almost instant to load a few weeks ago. And I can say without too much doubt that it's unlikely to be my computer or dial-in connection since other websites I access load without much delay.

    Stuey, on average I get about 45.3 when I dial-in. I found that it definitely helps unplugging any other phone related devices on the same phone line, especially Telstra Touchfones as they add a significant amount of interference to the connection. Without unplugging my phone, I only get around 33k when I dial-in, and it tends to lock up and disconnect quite often.

    Cheers
    Richard
    - Richard

    Now: 405 SRI D70 '93
    - 2.0L manual
    Earlier: 505 GTi Executive '85
    - hence "Silver Exec"...
    25 GTX '86
    - manual conversion

  24. #24
    Sense Pug307's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,355
    I was told that the old Touchfone 200s send a signal down the telephone lines which can cause them to disconnect - like call waiting.

    Peugeot 307 XS 1.6
    Aussiefrogged in MEL, PER, SYD, BNE & ADL.
    Rendezvous Adelaide 2005

  25. #25
    Gone Fishin' Ray Bell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Burpengary and Murrumburrah, Qld and NSW
    Posts
    9,223
    I was told that too... and that there's a fix for the problem that I had to sort out.

    But when it takes over twenty minutes to go from the froggy forum to general chit chat on ADSL, there is something definitely wrong.

    Dial up I have fewer problems, it seems.

Page 1 of 3 123 Last

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •