Help :( Bad noise in my engine :( maybe clutch?
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Help :( Bad noise in my engine :( maybe clutch?

Ok,

Yesterday my car was making a very faint winning noise, it almost sounded like a gearbox problem, but since it was so so faint, I didn't bother listening harder to it.

Advertisement

My car was fine today, the noise was gone untill this afternoon it came back with avengance.

There is a loud whine when the car is driving, when I am stopped and idling in neutral, you can't really hear the noise untill you engage the clutch, then it is loud. also when the clutch is engaged through the gears, the noise gives a kinda flutter. It's a high pitched whine.

I *think* it's a clutch issue, either a thrust brace bearing or a Spigget??

would any1 help me diagnose the problem? The car is booked for a 63,000km service this wednesday anyway, so the problem will be fixed at the latest on Wednesday at the pug' service center.

Anyway, I am not that technically minded, is it safe to keep driving the car? or is my clutch about to pack it in completely?
    "Do my eyes deceive me, or is Senna's Lotus sounding rough ?" - Murray Walker
    206XR 1.6ltr - SOLD
    BMW E36 325i Coupe
    73 Porsche 911RS

Sounds like a dry & soon to shit itself Thrust bearing, although i've had later Renault R10 thrusts go 15,000 km before they finally died. Better replace it sooner rather than later. Murphy's law says when it goes i'm gunna stuff ya good. ie. like peak hour in Sydney.
    cheers!
    Health and good fortune always,
    Damien.

We rode on the winds of the rising storm,
    We ran to the sounds of thunder.
    We danced among the lightning bolts,
    and tore the R10's assfromunder.

Robert Jordan & memyself&I

1/48th Scale Alpine A310,
    N-scale 1/160th Renault & Citroen, Advert. Signs & Billboards

yeah
    thanks.

Hopefully it will holdout to this Wednesday morning for it's 63K service