supercharging
  • Register
  • Help

Thread: supercharging

Fellow Frogger!

supercharging

Does anyone have experience in fitting superchargers to a standard or modified engine, particularly Citroens ? what are the problems ? does the compression ratio have to be lowered as with a turbo ?
    I have read some good reports of superchargers being fitted to Big6 and D's when they were new.

Advertisement

i have no knowledge i can offer..... but i too am interested in supercharging... inparticular Xsara's.

Administrator
    A toyota 4AGZE Supercharger would do the job very nicely. They run with a 5 rib multi-V belt and they have an A/C type clutch that means you could run it on a switch (boost/no boost) If you did it this way, you could probably wire in an additional injector (bridged of the existing injector pulse signal)to fire only when the supercharger is on, this would remove the need for a new computer. They are a very compact unit and bearing in mind the engine sizes are similar, you could probably use the corolla pulleys as a basis for sizes (an boost)
    QUOTE "The Toyota 4-AGZE motor was used in the 86-89 MR2 Supercharged edition MR2s. The motor is a modified 4-AGE unit. Static compression ratio of the motor was dropped from 9.4:1 to 8.0:1. The camshafts are identical to a normally aspirated car, although their timing may be different. The motor is fitted with a different type of injector with a higher flow capacity. Boost level is set at 8 PSI and achieved at 4000 RPM and higher, however the supercharger creates usable boost from idle through redline."
    These are a very reliable unit and are about the size of an A/C compressor.
    They cost about $500 from jap import wrecker.
    Regards,

<small>[ 28 April 2003, 08:50 PM: Message edited by: mistareno ]</small>

Some of the 403 and 203 people at Macquarie Uni used to supercharge too, back in the late 60's / early 70's.

Any of you out out there?

Cheers

Rod
    Rod's Home Page

Rod's car page