Slick 50 - the sequel
  • Help
    1000+ Posts

Slick 50 - the sequel

Somewhere on here a while ago there was a brief discussion about the pros and cons of Slick 50. Well, I've never used it, but Ford Motor Co. apparently recommend it in Ford Zetec Formula Ford, and Formula Fiesta, race engines.

My inlaws put it in their Range Rover and it was much smoother, plus oil pressure increased by about 10 psi when hot.

Advertisement

Anybody had any bad experiences?

Cheers

Stuey

2003 PEUGEOT 206 GTi

rek
    I've got no first-hand experience with Slick 50 (or any of the other teflon oil additives etc.) but I have heard from a few sources that the short-term improvements you get, come at a detriment to long-term engine life.

I'm not sure exactly what they mean by "detriment to long-term engine life" but there are a number of web sites around debating whether or not Slick 50 etc. is a good idea -- there would likely be further details around with a web search on the topic.

(PS. I'm of the opinion that if it really was that much better, oil companies would have already added the blend into their product)

[edit: to add that I have heard, though, that Slick 50 is a lot better for gearboxes, obviously as they have gears, rather than reciprocating pistons like in an engine)

[This message has been edited by rek (edited 12 September 2001).]
    Peter
    2008 Saab 9-3 1.9 TiD Sportcombi
    2011 Volvo C30 DRIVe 1.6D

1000+ Posts
    Thanks, Rek. I've done a bit of a search of the web, and it appears that you're right. In fact, the owners of Slick 50 have been done for making misleading claims in their advertising.

What I gathered is that in applications where longevity doesn't matter (racing) it's fine because it reduces friction. Any slight blockages of filters etc. don't affect the engine as they're rebuilt so often.

That's good; I only wanted to use their gearbox additive anyway...

Cheers

Stuey

2003 PEUGEOT 206 GTi

Fellow Frogger!