solenoid operated valves
  • Register
  • Help
    Budding Architect ???? pugrambo's Avatar

solenoid operated valves

ok guys
    time to pick some brains
    i have been toying with this idea for many many years but have never seem to come by an answer as to why it can't be achieved
    think about instead of having a camshft to open and close all those wonderfull valves in our engines why can't solenoids be used to do the same job ?
    and if you think about it you can set the valve timing whatever way you want with a simple program
    i'm sure with the amount of people on this forum there will be quite a few great ideas
    c'mon guys

Advertisement
    3 x '78 604 SL

1 x '98 306 GTi6

1 x secret project

1 x '98 406 STDT troop carrier and i don't care if it stinks, i don't sniff it's arse Death by wank tank

1 x '99 406SV 5spd wagon, time to burn more fuel

1 x 1994 605 SV3.0

WTD long range fuel tank for 605

Work is going on in F1 along these lines, in fact, Renault was supposed to be close to having it sorted.

But it's not appeared yet.

The biggest advantage would obviously be infinitely variable valve timing.

the infinite valve timing is what i am aiming at
    we don't need then to hunt around for camshafts or worry about rocker angles or anything like that
    camshaft people would not be happy about it and i realise that timing covers would be a little taller than they are at present but if they are the only downsides then what the heck
    i remember talking about doing this 15 years ago but all i ever got from people was "nah not possible mate"
    3 x '78 604 SL

1 x '98 306 GTi6

1 x secret project

1 x '98 406 STDT troop carrier and i don't care if it stinks, i don't sniff it's arse Death by wank tank

1 x 1994 605 SV3.0

Check the Technical Forum on Atlas F1 and use search there for discussion on the topic.

<span>Its been done... just not in <span class=ResizableText0>combustion</span> <span class=ResizableText0>production</span>