Caltex 98 Vortex?
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

Default Caltex 98 Vortex?

Anyone tried it out yet? How's it perform in your car?

Advertisement

Yes , during the recent Optimax shortage.

Can't complain.
    No knocking, perhaps a little difference in power, economy the same!
    /// 1986 SII 505 GTI
    2003 T5 307 HDI
    2013 LandRover90
    Sacred cows make the best hamburger mince.
    If you run, you only die tired

I've been using it for a couple of years in the 16V without hassles. It's a bit hard for me to compare it though as it's almost the only breed of PULP I can get here. I have had a couple of sus batches from Independents selling it under generic names but some of those can also be guilty of buying petrol from the "Phantom Tankers" so it could be anything and I did get a bad reaction from the local Woolworths outlet that might be that they still had a bit of that other crap they used to sell left in their tanks.
    I'm talking about Vortex; is there a higher octane version & if so what's it called? Not the same surely

Alan S
    If it ain't broke, use a 12" shifter.....that usually does the trick!!

Quote Originally Posted by Alan S
    I've been using it for a couple of years in the 16V without hassles. It's a bit hard for me to compare it though as it's almost the only breed of PULP I can get here. I have had a couple of sus batches from Independents selling it under generic names but some of those can also be guilty of buying petrol from the "Phantom Tankers" so it could be anything and I did get a bad reaction from the local Woolworths outlet that might be that they still had a bit of that other crap they used to sell left in their tanks.
    I'm talking about Vortex; is there a higher octane version & if so what's it called? Not the same surely

Alan S
    Yes Alan,
    The newer Vortex is 98 octane