Lexia OBD for a Ford Focus
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    1000+ Posts lion5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    1,669

    Default Lexia OBD for a Ford Focus

    I'm trying to find a free software that would let me connect my Lexia to my sister's ford focus so i can just read a code via the OBD, her dash is reading engine systems fault.

    Is this possible? I tried googling for some free OBD reading software, but it wouldn't detect the lexia. I figured since it's OBD/II any free reader that could read serial port would work.


    Any ideas?

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    sydney, australia
    Posts
    11,301

    Default

    you can jumper two of the terminals in the OBD socket then one of the lights on the dash flashes out the digits of the code.

  3. #3
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2,592

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alexander View Post
    you can jumper two of the terminals in the OBD socket then one of the lights on the dash flashes out the digits of the code.
    Hi Alexander,
    I am aware that you could do that in previous years with some of the old pre-OBD systems. However I have not heard that it is possible for modern OBD2 systems. Any more information ??
    jaahn

  4. #4
    sans witticism SLC206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    North Parramatta
    Posts
    3,993

    Default

    Generally, the free software you can get on the net (ScanTool, etc.) only works with an ELM-327 device.

    Thankfully the ELM-327 device is cheap (around $20-30).

    I wouldn't buy a bluethooth or wifi version - just get one with a USB cable.

    I don't think you have much chance of getting the PSA dongle to work with anything other than a PSA car.
    Regards,

    Simon

    2018 308 GTi 2011 DS3 DSport
    ----
    2014 208 GTi 2007 207 GTi 2004 206 GTi180 2000 206 GTi 1995 306 XT

    www.peugeotclub.asn.au

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts lion5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    1,669

    Default

    Cheers. Was just trying to save a bit of cash where I could. Will grab one off eBay

    Alex I checked that jumper trick. And yeah it only is with older Fords
    Via the aussiefrogs App
    Pour le peuple colonisé, la valeur la plus essentielle, parce que la plus concrète, c'est d'abord la terre: la terre qui doit assurer le pain et, bien sûr, la dignité.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    sydney, australia
    Posts
    11,301

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jaahn View Post
    Hi Alexander,
    I am aware that you could do that in previous years with some of the old pre-OBD systems. However I have not heard that it is possible for modern OBD2 systems. Any more information ??
    jaahn
    Quote Originally Posted by lion5 View Post
    Cheers. Was just trying to save a bit of cash where I could. Will grab one off eBay

    Alex I checked that jumper trick. And yeah it only is with older Fords
    Via the aussiefrogs App
    yes, i was being rash. i was thinking of the socket in a couple of older toyotas, and looking at online images they were probably not OBD anything.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •