Phone scam
  • Help

Thread: Phone scam

1000+ Posts

Default Phone scam

This has probably already been mentioned before, but here goes anyway. Early last week i was awakened from my slumber at the ungodly hour of 9 am (currently being a gentleman of leisure) by the sound of an incoming message on my mobile phone, i was informed that my mobile number had won for me the sum of $2.000.000.dollars USD in the freelotto mobile number promo, all i had to do was email mobilefreeprize@live.com, without thinking i just deleted the message later it dawned on me i could have some fun stringing them along

Advertisement
    If you've got too much traction, you haven't got enough horse power ...

.2010 Holden Commodore Ute
    2001 Renault Sport Clio Cup 27 of 85
    1973 Alpine Renault A310/4 1600 VE

Don't even give them your e-mail address. I used to work in a bank, and sit next to the fraud guys. I frequently heard one side of a very unfortunate conversation. It's amazing how many people had 'suspicions' something wasn't right, and ended up with a key logger virus on their computer.

Their advice was always just delete any spam e-mails immediately, and don't respond to any phone calls, or SMS's asking for information. They may have some information about you (for example name address, and phone number), and just need another thing like Date of Birth to try and ring your bank to get your internet password re-set then transfer money out of your bank account.

A lot of fraud still happens the good old fashioned way, with the crook talking to someone. They just keep getting little bits of information, and eventually have enough to do what they want. We did have one instance where someone had set up duplicate statements (you can request more than one statement be issued), which were going out for months, before the crook applied for loans and bank accounts elsewhere.

It's just not worth it getting involved.

1000+ Posts