Traction Clutch stuck.
  • Register
  • Help
    Fellow Frogger!

Default Traction Clutch stuck.

Can somebody help me find a thread I remember reading about a stuck clutch on a Traction. A mate has a small boot BL and on his description that's his problem. I've had plenty of experience with stuck clutches but in tractors, trucks and 4WDs, I intend to give him a hand tomorrow but knowing that Traction gearboxes are made from Crystal I fear busting the C&P or have reverse pop out the side. Advice on the matter would be welcome.

Advertisement

Real cars have hydraulics DoubleChevron's Avatar

That was me .... I started it in 1st gear down our steep'ish drive (ie: very little shock loading on the gearbox), then drove it across the road and around the local hall. I held the clutch in and accelerated, then engine braked in 1st gear a number of times, and it came free. I figured this was as gentle as driving the car around in 1st gear.

seeya,
    Shane L.
    'Cit' homepage:
    Citroen Workshop
    Proper cars--
    '85 Series II CX2500 GTi Turbo I
    '63 ID19 http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/citro%EBn-forum/90325-best-project-car-you-have-ever-seen.html
    '72 DS21 ie 5spd pallas (last looked at ... about 15years ago)
    '78 GS1220 pallas
    '92 Range Rover Classic ... 5spd manual.

Yay ... No Slugomatics

Modern Junk:
    '07 Poogoe 407 HDi 6spd manual

If It is really stuck fast it is an engine out and bell housing separation job. Then a dismantling and cleaning of the clutch working faces. Any other approach is courting Disaster. While it is out separate the bell housing and gearbox and examine the cw&p for wear in the roots and tips of the teeth. If there are any traces of case hardening erosion it is time to overhaul the box thoroughly. To ignore this, again invites trouble.
    Cheers Gerry