XANTIA ACTIVA; suspension questions for Xantia genius..
  • Register
  • Help

Default XANTIA ACTIVA; suspension questions for Xantia genius..

My (1998) Xantia Activa is wonderful, but, no-one seems to have answers for the following:

a) slow to get pressure .. even if only turned off for a few minutes needs time to resume

Advertisement

b) rear occasionally comes with a bang.

I have been researching this "problem" for 14 years so far ... no solutions

Lotsa interesting comments on the web .. nothing much in the way of tried and tested
    solutions tho

Gary

Fellow Frogger!

not much information to go on

slow to get presuure, i assume you checked the basics, accumulator sphere, anti sink spheres, hydraulic pump, lhm tank filters,

bang at rear, is this when the car is rising, going over a bump, does the suspension get hard ? any more specific information would be helpful

Hi,

If the Activa system has some leaks, they lose pressure pretty fast once you stop and with only a 2 piston HP pump they take quite a while to get up again. In the UK they are called sinkers.

Mine often drops a variable amount at the back between 1 and 5 minutes after I start up. I think it is the hydractive system opening up to the centre sphere. They seem to stick for a while after they have been at rest. I often wonder how well they work in the dynamic situation.

What do others think?

Cheers,

Ken W

The bang is most likely to be a broken bearing in the rear swing arm, letting go with a bang. Maybe check for wear on the inside edges of the rear tyres, also a sign of wear in the rear swing arm bearings.

I'd remove the spheres , all of them, and have them all pressure tested. That way you will know what needs to be re-gassed or replaced.

Cheers...George 1/8th.

1996 Xantia VSX

Fellow Frogger

Maybe, that's just how it is???

Fellow Frogger!

the suspension shouldnt bash and crash, and mine doesnt drop after a few minutes