DS hot dash
  • Register
  • Help

Thread: DS hot dash

Default DS hot dash

OK, I'm relatively new to DS ownership (I've had a '74 Safari for about six months) so I've got an "is this normal" question. With the weather warming up I'm noticing how toasty the cabin gets on longer trips, warm to hot air comes out of the vents and the metal lower part of the dash gets hot. Some previous owner has mounted a temp guage on it so I can tell how hot! - up to 50 degrees C. So is this normal, if it isn't how do I fix it? If it is how am I going to make it through summer??

Advertisement

Quote Originally Posted by frithnow
    OK, I'm relatively new to DS ownership (I've had a '74 Safari for about six months) so I've got an "is this normal" question. With the weather warming up I'm noticing how toasty the cabin gets on longer trips, warm to hot air comes out of the vents and the metal lower part of the dash gets hot. Some previous owner has mounted a temp guage on it so I can tell how hot! - up to 50 degrees C. So is this normal, if it isn't how do I fix it? If it is how am I going to make it through summer??
    Does this beastie have a 23 in it?
    cause they do generate alot of heat for some reason it helps to have a craigy fan and you could rip the engine out, put some insulation around firewall and costum make a metal sheild on top. This should help with the heat and noise too.

Dan
    Last edited by PSvensson; 25th November 2005 at 12:14 AM.

It does have a 23, so you'd best tell me about craigy fans. I googled craigy fan and I an obscure football team and Lady Windemere's Fan but nothing that would fit under the bonnet!

Fellow Frogger!

It shouldn't blow hot air out the vents, check that the heater tap is turned off, its mounted up on the left side of the bulkhead.

There is a control under the dash, sometimes the heater tap gets stuck or the cable doesn't close it fully.