No Oil Pressure
  • Register
  • Help

Thread: No Oil Pressure

Tadpole

Default No Oil Pressure

hi
    i'm new to citroens and i'm new to forums, so excuse any mistakes..
    have just bought a CX2200 that has been stored for 10 years and seems in pretty good general condition.
    motor runs well and quiet but the oil warning lamp stays on (don't freak out, i trailered it home).
    as most of the lamps and lights seemed to flashing to some unheard beat, i assumed that it was probably some electrical malfunction. but no luck, i've tested the oil pressure switch and the circuit and all is ok.
    so i am assuming that it is probably the by-pass valve at the oil pump.
    is this known for sticking and if so, is it difficult to fix ???

Advertisement

Stick a gauge in place of the light switch to check if the pressure is there and in most cases you'll find it's just the sender unit that's stuffed they just simply short out.
    Don't waste money at the local dealer, just pop into Repco and buy a standard switch for $10 or so and that is the same as the one that the Cit dealer will arrange a trip to the local surgeon to amputate the arm and leg to pay for.

Alan S
    If it ain't broke, use a 12" shifter.....that usually does the trick!!

Tadpole

Quote Originally Posted by Alan S
    Stick a gauge in place of the light switch to check if the pressure is there and in most cases you'll find it's just the sender unit that's stuffed they just simply short out.
    Don't waste money at the local dealer, just pop into Repco and buy a standard switch for $10 or so and that is the same as the one that the Cit dealer will arrange a trip to the local surgeon to amputate the arm and leg to pay for.

Alan S
    yes, but i've tested the pressure switch electrically and mechanically and it seems to work ok !
    steve

Quote Originally Posted by brillig
    yes, but i've tested the pressure switch electrically and mechanically and it seems to work ok !
    steve