Replacing standard head unit on C2
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Banned BalleR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Usa
    Posts
    67

    Default Replacing standard head unit on C2

    I know this has been discussed before.

    But i was wondeing if anyone has sucessfully installed an aftermarket headunit into a c2, preserving the full integration and functionality, i.e. stalk controls, displays, ect.

    I am looking to do this as an mp3 compatible deck would be nice.

    I have done searches on the C2 club websites in the UK, but there are no real certain answers there. I have however heard there are adapters available to allow connection to the citroens multiplex wiring. And there are aparently adapters for the wiper stalk controls, providing your headunit has input for a remote.
    But i dont know where these things are available, if they work, ect.
    If its a simple install, i would have an attempt myself, i would rather a professional do it, as i dont want to play with any of the electrics of a modern car like this.

    Any advice is apreciated.

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger! vanderaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    457

    Default

    You need a head unit which can do CAN multiplex wiring. I think your chances of sourcing such a unit in Australia is extremely remote.

    http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/prod...oducts_id=4181

    Andrew
    2003 C3 Exclusive Panoramique auto

  3. #3
    Banned BalleR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Usa
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Thanks andrew, ill look into that.

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger! vanderaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    457

    Default

    If you do find an answer, let me know, eh? I wouldn't mind a CD stacker than costs $600 + fitting when a reasonable Sony stacker is less than half that.

    Andrew
    2003 C3 Exclusive Panoramique auto

  5. #5
    Banned BalleR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Usa
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Will do, thats exactly the way I saw it. And I wouldnt really use an IPOD much if i bought one for use with the stadard head unit as a solution, apart from using it in the car. So I thought that swapping for an Mp3 compatible unit would be better, cleaner solution. Connecting a IPOD still requires an auxilary input if your hard wiring it .For $600, you can buy some really nice units these days also.

    I dont know why they choose to use a non standard connection, makes life difficult when it doesnt need to be.

    But i will get back to you, ive emailed some companies in the UK to see what they offer.

  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger! vanderaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    457

    Default

    Hmm. Hadn't thought of using my iPod Mini with the stereo. That would rock.

    Andrew
    2003 C3 Exclusive Panoramique auto

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    44

    Default

    from what i know you might have to take it to the citroen dealer so they program the car to tell it the head unit has been removed or else it could affect
    * Display not working
    * Possibility that the central locking/immobiliser/alarm not working
    * Electrical problems

    http://www.c2club.co.uk/index.php?na...ewtopic&t=1100

  8. #8
    Good Sport danielsydney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    NSW
    Posts
    4,917

    Default

    jasc2 thanks for that Thats exactly why I have not bothered doing anything to my C3 also like putting in another stereo or something.
    Do Renault clio drivers have the same issue?

  9. #9
    Banned BalleR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Usa
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Thats a good point jas,

    I have heard about it confusing the ecu. Ill have to contact service to see. Im really not keen to touch it now. I dont know why its such a pain in the ass.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danielsydney
    jasc2 thanks for that Thats exactly why I have not bothered doing anything to my C3 also like putting in another stereo or something.
    Do Renault clio drivers have the same issue?
    i am not sure if renault drivers have the same issues...

    It is the C2's ECU, all cars have different systems to Citroen, so Renault could have a completly different system to the C2/C3. Check with dealer.

  11. #11
    Fellow Frogger! vanderaj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    457

    Default

    Well, guess who got surprised with a iTrip Mini for his birthday?

    http://www.griffintechnology.com/products/itrip_mini/

    Problem solved! My brother's taste in gadgets is excellent.

    thanks,
    Andrew
    2003 C3 Exclusive Panoramique auto

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •