New Citroen Owner
  • Help

Default New Citroen Owner

Hi . I'm the proud new owner of a C4 and I absolutely love and adore her look and feel. However a couple of issues have arisen and I was wondering if anyone could help me ? I'm yet to take her in for her first service but have noticed that there is a slight tapping noise when idling. I'm no mechanic and this may well be normal or it may require some adjustment when serviced. Can anyone help? Further, the driver's door trim (I think, they're hard to pinpoint) has a rattle that is driving me nuts! Again is this a problem that is common and is it easily fixed ? Don't get me wrong the C4 is my pride and joy but these little issues are annoying. The dealer says no problem and will be looked at when I bring her in but I'm too damn impatient. Thanks.

Advertisement

From past experience I've found small rattles are best initially left to the dealer to sort out.
    With engine or transmission related stuff, they do all kinds of strange and inexplicable things with software upgrades which seem to be an ongoing thing and speaking hypothetically, it's not impossible that the engine noise may be able to be dialled out if it's spark or mixture related, only time will tell. Might sound a bit over the top even thinking about them being able to do that but hey, they've been taking clunks out of C5 auto transmissions for years so go figure.

Nice looking car the C4; was that yours, the white one at UQ French car day last Sunday?

Alan S
    If it ain't broke, use a 12" shifter.....that usually does the trick!!

Thanks for the advice. I think I'll leave it all up to the dealer. I'm sure they'll take care of it all.

I didn't know the UQ day was on. I sure would have gone if I'd known. We're on the Darling Downs near Toowoomba.

Fair enough; you shouldn't have too many problems with your dealer up there. Classic cars have been into Cits for a long time and have a pretty good reputation.