CX rear window reseal.
  • Register
  • Help

Default CX rear window reseal.

Hi Froggies,
    I've been out of the loop for a while. I had to concentrate on a talk I had to give at a conference in Sydney a couple of weeks ago, and I had to re-paint a bedroom, and now there is a bathroom renovation I have to do also...so unfortunately the CX gets the low priority treatment.
    However , here in Melbourne we have had plenty of rain lately, and unfortunately I found water leaking into the back of the car and the rear seats were soaked.
    Because the car is kept outside I had to act quickly.
    Some years ago I worked in the windscreen industry, so I knew what to do. The first step was to remove the rear window. The stainless steel surrounds came off ok once the screws were removed. Even the screws are stainless!, so be careful not to lose them.
    The urethane seal had let go along the top corners and right across the bottom of the screen. But the sides were still well bonded. The only way was to cut through the old seal from inside. This was tough work , without the proper tools, I used a kitchen knife, a very tough one. Once I could remove the window, the rest was fairly straight forward.
    I decided to fit a spare window I had in the garage because it was in better shape than the original one which was covered in scratches from a rear louvre. The only trouble was I had to remove the rear window demister connectors from the old window and re-use them on the spare one which didn't have any. These are soldered on. I used the gas powered blow torch to heat the solder, remove the lugs, and reset them on the new screen.
    You have to be careful doing this..too much heat for too long on one spot and you end up with a bang and a pile of new sand.
    I was careful.
    The old urethane was so well bonded to the body it was a shame to remove it, but it had to come out. It took the paint with it as I tore it out.