C5 x7 Flashing cel - cannot get QLD roadworthy
  • Help
Results 1 to 17 of 17
Like Tree15Likes
  • 2 Post By dmccurtayne
  • 1 Post By seasink
  • 1 Post By Ken W
  • 2 Post By driven
  • 2 Post By JBN
  • 7 Post By dcc236

Thread: C5 x7 Flashing cel - cannot get QLD roadworthy

  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Brisbane/Australia
    Posts
    430

    Default C5 x7 Flashing cel - cannot get QLD roadworthy

    The flashing check engine light i have on the 2010 C5 x7 hdi with 2L RHH engine has suddenly become a serious problem for me. I have tried three different places and I cannot get a QLD RWC for it until the cel is gone. The problem I have is that its NSW rego expires in two weeks. Please help.

    Advertisement


    The only obvious symptoms I have are:
    - Flashing CEL
    - Centre Console Display not readable on hot days (pretty std fault)
    - Cruise control & speed limiter will not activate (switch on but in pause mode).
    Other than that, the car drives and rides beautifully.

    Here are my diagbox codes
    BSi
    - F5FF Unexpected re initialisation fault coming from BSI (have tried at least 25 BSI resets, result is always the same)
    - F159 Oil level information fault

    DCM3.5_BR2 (ignition)
    - U1118 Intersystems CAN
    - U1318 Intersystems CAN
    - P0610 Downloading / Configuration

    Suspension
    - U2005 Triggering (vehicle speed receipt anomaly)

    DSG (TPMS)
    - U1213 Fault in the vehicle speed information received by CAN from the ABS or ESP ECU

    Headlight Height Adjuster
    - Is reading in red italics in Global Test

    EMF_C (Centre display)
    - F8EB Fault: absence of the screen permanent plus


    Would appreciate your advice on how to clear the CEL and get my cruise control working. Nothing I have tried works.

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts dmccurtayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Newcastle/ central coast
    Posts
    2,216

    Default

    Happy to do a face time with you in front of the diagbox sounds like you need to configure the engine ecu and I assume you have a ripped copy of diagbox so I cannot do a remote login


    4008
    Gone but not forgotten C5 x7 3008 206 GTI 180 306 XR SED 405 MI16 x2 xzara VTS 406 SV 206 XT Berlingo 2011 (best car ever) 306 HDI 307 XSE HDI touring
    Fix it right the first time
    Stuey and dcc236 like this.
    Garage C5 X7 4008
    Gone but not forgotten 3008 206 GTI 180 306 XR SED 405 MI16 x2 xzara VTS 406 SV 206 XT Berlingo 2011 (best car ever) 306 HDI 307 XSE HDI touring
    Fix it right the first time

  3. #3
    Thank God for my Hydroen harrisson_citroen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Coolum Beach
    Posts
    2,027

    Default

    I understand your desperation when such things happen.
    Have you tried all the simple things first. I'm sure you know by now C5's need excellent batteries, otherwise not happy. Best trying that first.

    I had a problem with a 2008 Tourer, that came up with ridiculous symptoms and messages about the gearbox, the pollution etc... for weeks, that no after market diag was able to pinpoint . In the end I ended up at the dealer (will pm you) who found the fault was an engine speed sensor.
    He proceeded to change that and for $190, the car was like new and faultless after that.
    I think when it comes to that a visit to a reasonable dealer is the best thing to do.

    edit: David's (dmccurtayne) new offer of help is even better!!
    DS Un jour, DS toujours !

    DS23 IE Pallas Automatique Borg Warner
    C5 X7 163 Exclusive Automatique AM6
    C3 II 2010 Automatique AL4
    Everything's gone bloody automatique!

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Brisbane/Australia
    Posts
    430

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dmccurtayne View Post
    Happy to do a face time with you in front of the diagbox sounds like you need to configure the engine ecu and I assume you have a ripped copy of diagbox so I cannot do a remote login


    4008
    Gone but not forgotten C5 x7 3008 206 GTI 180 306 XR SED 405 MI16 x2 xzara VTS 406 SV 206 XT Berlingo 2011 (best car ever) 306 HDI 307 XSE HDI touring
    Fix it right the first time

    That'd be amazing. Yes, it is an ebay version of Diagbox that I have that came with my cable.
    I will pm you.

    I hadn't even considered a config problem. If there are screen shots of current config items I can provide, please let me know where and how in diagbox I can do that. Might make making changes easier, if required.
    Last edited by dcc236; 9th January 2020 at 02:37 PM.

  5. #5
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Brisbane/Australia
    Posts
    430

    Default

    Looked at config of ignition ECU this morning. Most systems are listed as blank or absent. Tried to update but diagbox reported update failure.

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    9,234

    Default

    Don't ever go online with a copy of Diagbox. In fact disable networking so you cannot.
    dmccurtayne likes this.

  7. #7
    1000+ Posts dmccurtayne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Newcastle/ central coast
    Posts
    2,216

    Default

    Thatís why your engine light is on


    4008
    Gone but not forgotten C5 x7 3008 206 GTI 180 306 XR SED 405 MI16 x2 xzara VTS 406 SV 206 XT Berlingo 2011 (best car ever) 306 HDI 307 XSE HDI touring
    Fix it right the first time
    Garage C5 X7 4008
    Gone but not forgotten 3008 206 GTI 180 306 XR SED 405 MI16 x2 xzara VTS 406 SV 206 XT Berlingo 2011 (best car ever) 306 HDI 307 XSE HDI touring
    Fix it right the first time

  8. #8
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Brisbane/Australia
    Posts
    430

    Default

    Yes, that makes sense now and why cruise control isn't working.

    Pretty weird that all these systems are blank or set as absent in the ecu. Don't know the cars history.

  9. #9
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Brisbane/Australia
    Posts
    430

    Default

    I can't get the ignition system ECU settings to update after I change them. What am I doing wrong?

  10. #10
    1000+ Posts Ken W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    2,028

    Default

    Try putting your battery on a charger so the ECUs have lots of volts to store setting into the non-volatile memory.

    Cheers, Ken
    dcc236 likes this.

  11. #11
    1000+ Posts driven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,516

    Default

    Remove the globe .... easy
    IWS and jaahn like this.

  12. #12
    COL
    COL is offline
    A110 COL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Van Diemen's Land
    Posts
    4,252

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by driven View Post
    Remove the globe .... easy
    Aren't the lights suppose to come on and then extinguish to pass road worthy??? Just saying
    Regards Col

    1973 Renault R12 Station Wagon
    1976 Renault R12 Station Wagon
    2002 Renault Laguna V6
    1973 Alpine A110

    http://alpine-a110.weebly.com/

  13. #13
    Thank God for my Hydroen harrisson_citroen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Coolum Beach
    Posts
    2,027

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by COL View Post
    Aren't the lights suppose to come on and then extinguish to pass road worthy??? Just saying
    I would think that is the case, yes.
    DS Un jour, DS toujours !

    DS23 IE Pallas Automatique Borg Warner
    C5 X7 163 Exclusive Automatique AM6
    C3 II 2010 Automatique AL4
    Everything's gone bloody automatique!

  14. #14
    JBN
    JBN is offline
    1000+ Posts JBN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    8,408

    Default

    Only if the guy doing the roadworthy picks up on it. Most hate Citroen so much that as long as it has good tyres, brakes OK and indicators work they are happy to see the inside of your wallet and the rear view of your car departing their premises.

    John
    driven and jaahn like this.

  15. #15
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Armidale
    Posts
    2,524

    Default

    Seems JBN is correct regarding the ACT.

    My son recently took his C4 Grand Picasso (purchased with NSW rego) through the ACT government inspection station. The Check Engine light is permanently on in his car, because the standard head unit has been removed (as it has failed).

    From my son's description, the process was pretty much as John describes it . H is car is now proudly displaying new ACT plates.

    Even worse, although the brakes were functional, and passed the inspection, they were badly worn. He has since had all pads and rotors replaced - apparently his safety standards are higher than those of the inspection station!

    Cheers

    Alec

  16. #16
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Brisbane/Australia
    Posts
    430

    Default

    I can get the car QLD rwc today or tomorrow.

    Thanks to dmccurtayne and Ken W for pointing me in the right direction. Configuration of engine ECU is now updated, CEL is gone and cruise control is working again. You guys are amazing.

    The only things I have left to do is repair my glovebox, replace the broken wire for drivers side electric window regulator and change all the fluids.

    Happy days.

  17. #17
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lavers Hill
    Posts
    321

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by driven View Post
    Remove the globe .... easy
    Reminds me of when I had a Magna converted to LPG. Changing to LPG caused check engine light to come on - due to lack of voltage to EFI injectors. The LPG system computer fed a false injector signal to the car's own EFI computer to trick it into thinking the injectors were still operating, but it could tell the difference and didn't accept the fake signal. They at first offered to remove the check engine globe, I said no so they finally used a relay to switch out the check engine light when running on LPG. I queried it with VACC and they said it was common practice, so I let it be.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •