Need to prime new DS steering rack?
  • Help
Results 1 to 18 of 18
Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By Roger Wilkinson
  • 1 Post By gerrypro
  • 1 Post By Glenn Drake
  • 1 Post By faulksy
  • 1 Post By skp

Thread: Need to prime new DS steering rack?

  1. #1
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    29

    Default Need to prime new DS steering rack?

    Hoping some knowledgeable Cit folk may know the answer.
    Iíve just put new rack in my DS23.
    Does anybody know if I need to prime or bleed this, or just start her up and let the hydraulics do the rest?

    Advertisement


    IMG_1577494981.474699.jpg


    Sent from my iPad using aussiefrogs

  2. #2
    BVH Roger Wilkinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warrnambool
    Posts
    2,405

    Default

    Just start her up and turn fully left and right a couple of times. The hydraulics will do the rest.

    Roger
    UFO likes this.

  3. #3
    1000+ Posts gerrypro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Camperdown 3260 Australia
    Posts
    3,156

    Default

    Don't forget to install your centring cam!
    Last edited by gerrypro; 28th December 2019 at 07:55 PM.
    UFO likes this.
    Cheers Gerry

  4. #4
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Okay thanks for the confirmation
    I will put the centring cam on now, as I have finished alignment with aligning tool (needs the cam removed).
    Cheers


    Sent from my iPad using aussiefrogs

  5. #5
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Castlemaine Area
    Posts
    524

    Default

    I'm just interested - - - did you buy this rack new and where from ?? or is it a reconditioned one and who did it ??

    The rack in my '68 Safari leaks.

    John
    Quote Originally Posted by Drake View Post
    Hoping some knowledgeable Cit folk may know the answer.
    Iíve just put new rack in my DS23.
    Does anybody know if I need to prime or bleed this, or just start her up and let the hydraulics do the rest?

    IMG_1577494981.474699.jpg


    Sent from my iPad using aussiefrogs

  6. #6
    Thank God for my Hydroen harrisson_citroen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Coolum Beach
    Posts
    2,048

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gilberthenry View Post
    I'm just interested - - - did you buy this rack new and where from ?? or is it a reconditioned one and who did it ??

    The rack in my '68 Safari leaks.

    John
    Aren't Pleiades in Childers not in operation anymore? [email protected] pacific.net .au
    DS Un jour, DS toujours !

    DS23 IE Pallas Automatique Borg Warner
    C5 X7 163 Exclusive Automatique AM6
    C3 II 2010 Automatique AL4
    Everything's gone bloody automatique!

  7. #7
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Castlemaine Area
    Posts
    524

    Default

    I tried some time ago to contact them to no avail so I'll see how I go.

    Apparently, to buy one overseas, one needs to send one as an exchange which is a bit of an ask, but again, I'll consider all options.

    John

  8. #8
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    17

    Default

    I think Stewart Pekin in Perth does steering racks he is on this forum

  9. #9
    1000+ Posts Ken W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    2,046

    Default

    It is best to call Peter Raffles as his email is not reliable.

    Cheers, Ken

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger! robo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    186

    Default

    Yes you need to ďcallĒ Peter Raffles he did mine about 2 years ago a lot cheaper then O/S


    Sent from my iPhone using aussiefrogs

  11. #11
    Fellow Frogger! robo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    186

    Default

    [QUOTE=Drake;1640753]Okay thanks for the confirmation
    I will put the centring cam on now, as I have finished alignment with aligning tool (needs the cam Hi


    Drake, is that an original aligning tool?


    I made my own out of wood and bolts so I don’t know how accurate it is

  12. #12
    Thank God for my Hydroen harrisson_citroen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Coolum Beach
    Posts
    2,048

    Default

    [QUOTE=robo;1640962]
    Quote Originally Posted by Drake View Post


    I made my own out of wood and bolts so I donít know how accurate it is
    That's what I did also.....very effective, and works fine!
    DS Un jour, DS toujours !

    DS23 IE Pallas Automatique Borg Warner
    C5 X7 163 Exclusive Automatique AM6
    C3 II 2010 Automatique AL4
    Everything's gone bloody automatique!

  13. #13
    BVH Roger Wilkinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warrnambool
    Posts
    2,405

    Default

    A few years ago I borrowed one from Carter Willey in the USA. It didn't fit. I suspect there is something slightly different about the right hand drive steering arrangements that means the factory tool does not fit. So I align steering racks manually now.

    Roger

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Templestowe, Melbourne
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Gilbert the rack was from Roger Parker. Iíve had it for a few years whilst I mustered the courage to do the changeover myself. Donít think Roger is doing this anymore?
    The alignment tool is the original style. I bought it as my first attempt at fitting a DS rack (20 years ago) I got the alignment wrong, and wondered why my steering always felt lumpy and not quite right.



    Sent from my iPad using aussiefrogs
    robo likes this.

  15. #15
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    229

    Default

    there are a few people around who rebuild the racks with new seals but nobody has the tooling to repair excessively worn power pistons and spool valves.

    Fully rebuilt (new seals and reground pistons) racks are available from Europe on an exchange basis which isn’t as complicated as it sounds. Simply box up and ship your old rack once the new one is dispatched. It only took 3 days for my new one to arrive from England. If you are willing to lose the refundable deposit then there is no need to send off the old rack. Do keep in mind that the supply of rebuildable RHD racks is dwindling. All up it was approx $2000 and hasn’t given me a bit of trouble.

  16. #16
    Thank God for my Hydroen harrisson_citroen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Coolum Beach
    Posts
    2,048

    Default

    3 days from England to Melbourne parcel ?

    Printed stamp or it didn't happen!!!!
    DS Un jour, DS toujours !

    DS23 IE Pallas Automatique Borg Warner
    C5 X7 163 Exclusive Automatique AM6
    C3 II 2010 Automatique AL4
    Everything's gone bloody automatique!

  17. #17
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    melbourne
    Posts
    229

    Default

    They send them out by international courier. Ordinarily they have the courier pick up the old rack at the same time as delivering the new one but they don’t offer that service outside of Europe.
    harrisson_citroen likes this.

  18. #18
    skp
    skp is offline
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    217

    Default

    Hi gilberthenry,
    Yes, I overhaul DS racks, new seals and boots throughout. I'm even silly enough to do SM's as well!
    skp
    denxm likes this.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •