suspension issue on newly purchased C5
  • Register
  • Help
    Tadpole

Default suspension issue on newly purchased C5

Hi everyone,
    I took the advice of a few and purchased a 2008 C5 2.0hdi 6 speed auto. Relatively high k's but in beautiful condition and drives very well. Auto changes nicely, and engine pulls very well.
    There are 2 issues, one of which I knew when I bought it, the other I missed.
    It blows a bit of smoke on hard acceleration, but there is no DPF light on or anything.
    The other thing is that there is a 'suspension faulty" warning coming for a few seconds on start up. That is what I missed when I test drove it. However, the car raises and lowers properly and the suspension seems to work perfectly, not that I have a lot of experience with these. There are no noticeable leaks.
    Any ideas?
    I thought to check the LDS level, so lowered the car to lowest level and started to open the filler cap but it was pressurised so I stopped. Is it ok to remove the cap and release the pressure? What is the procedure for checking and filling tank?
    The car had service history but no records of timing belt change, though the owner said it was done a year ago, but he was not technically savvy so can't really trust that. What is normal timing belt change km's? I know the Peugeot 406 hdi I have is 120k.
    Thanks for any info.

Advertisement

UFO

There was an update to a vented LDS cap so there shouldn't be pressure, but yes it is ok to remove the cap. The tank is not part of the pressure system.

Did the prior owner tell you where the car was serviced or can you easily determine from the service records? If it was Paul at North 'Gong it would have been in safe hands.

Send me a PM and we could probably meet one afternoon. Although I live in Gerri I work at West Wollongong TAFE.

Welcome to the C5 club.
    Craig K
    2009 C5 HDi Exclusive

Tadpole

Thanks UFO,