C4 VTi Auto MY09 Clicking and air noise on gear change.
  • Register
  • Help

Default C4 VTi Auto MY09 Clicking and air noise on gear change.

This is a question related to my younger son's 2010 C4 VTi Auto MY09. He is in Brisbane, so I have no first hand knowledge of the situation.
    He has just had the turbo replaced on this car, got it back on Wednesday. Last night (Friday) car started making a clicking sound with a slight air noise just as the car is about to change gear.
    Has anyone on the forum experienced this? What was the fix? Would it only be a matter of servicing the hydraulic gearbox.

Thanks,
    Anthony

Advertisement
    Anthony O'Brien
    2008 C5
    2007 C4
    2004 C5 Estate

Previous
    2003 C5
    2004 C2 (now with youngest son)
    2006 C2 (now with eldest son)

Fellow Frogger

So, this is the old shape C4 with the EP6 turbo petrol engine and an AL4 gearbox? Yes?
    The wastegate pivot on the back end of the turbo is the usual problem rather than the turbo itself. If that was faulty and not replaced or the actuator has come loose or the vacuum system is causing it to flap, that might be a possible source of noise. If the turbo failed, then it might have been due to a lack of lubrication, often due to coking of the oil in the feed pipe. Other items that might click are a failing turbo coolant pump and maybe the control for the water pump, but these won't be associated with a gear change or the gearbox.
    Perhaps, send it back to the person who changed the turbo?

Thanks David,
    Old shape C4 with the 1.6 HDI diesel engine and EGS 6 speed automated manual. The 'VTi Auto MY09' is from the CarSales ad for the car. Is this an incorrect label for the 1.6 HDI diesel?