• 1 Post By FIVEDOOR
  • 2 Post By DoubleChevron
  • 1 Post By Armidillo
  • 1 Post By Budge

Thread: Tool size for working on DS

Tadpole

Default Tool size for working on DS

Hi all,

I am SLOWLY dismantling my 1968 ID for restoration.

Advertisement

I have metric spaners and sockets but they seem to be slightly too loose on the nuts and bolts risking damage to them. This is my first time doing anything like this. What am I missing?
    I was told it was metric.
    Cheers
    John

With a few exceptions, the bolts are either 9 or 11mm unless someone has gone through and replaced a lot of them. They should all be metric but again, it depends whoís been there before.

The majority of flare nuts are 9mm however the output from the pump is 12mm. A set of flare but spanners is highly recommended to avoid damaging the flarenuts. Supercheap auto has a set with the appropriate sizes for about $20

Hang onto any nuts and bolts you take off as Citroen had a habit of using standard sizes with obscure thread pitches. For instance the pump body uses hard to get M9 with a 1mm thread pitch.

Fellow Frogger

If it was a later car there would be lots of 8 and 10 mm, but slightly older cars have large heads on many nuts and bolts and some threads have a different pitch. For example, older boot hinges have thicker nuts and an odd thread that escapes me at the moment. A decent collection of metric sockets and spanners should be fine. If the tools feel a little loose, are they the sort that grab the flats and not the corners, for example Metrinch or, less obviously, something like Snap-On's Flankdrive?

Screw heads are almost exclusively NOT Philips, but Posidriv, so get yourself a set of those screwdrivers or use bits marked PZ1, PZ2, .... and note the extra small cross on the heads. Using a Philips head on a Posidriv head causes damage.

Tadpole

Thanks for advice, so far I have been concentrating on doors, glass, window guides/rails, winding mechanism, etc.