Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By dmccurtayne
  • 1 Post By David S
  • 1 Post By dcc236
  • 1 Post By dmccurtayne

Thread: 07 c4 surging

Tadpole

Default 07 c4 surging

Hi. Im new to these pages, but after having a look around, what a great place. I've just bought a c4 picasso 2.0 hdi last week and what a beautiful car. Except for one issue. Surging at light throttle openings. Ive plugged my snapon scantool into it and have no codes and all live data looks as expected. The car starts straight up and idles smooth with no issues. Its only at around 1600-2000 rpm that the surging happens. Ive swapped the maf sensor with no difference. Unplugging the maf gets rid of the issue but is definitely down on power when unplugged. Ive checked all the vaccume lines and have no leaks. Im leaning towards an egr being stuck open or at least not functioning correctly. The car only has 110000k's on it. If you back off the throttle or accelerate harder the surging stops and it doesnt feel like it's down on power, just the annoying surging.

Advertisement

1000+ Posts

Which 2.0 HDI engine is fitted? RHH or RHR? Digits 6-7-8 of the VIN will tell you.

The RHR is the earlier, aka the DW10B. RHH is the later DW10C. They have quite a few differences, including the EGR arrangements,

Tadpole

Rhr 6spd auto

You need to fit a egr restrictive plate available every where on eBay
    David S likes this.

Fellow Frogger

If you have eliminated other possible faults and the surging is the sort that might gently rock your head back and forward on a very light throttle and at stable speed, yes, the EGR plate may be the fix. 8mm hole. Blocking it off is not desirable and a larger hole doesn't have the desired effect.

The EGR valve can also fail. Either head of the valve drops off or the actuator arm breaks away from the stepper motor spindle.
    Greg likes this.

Tadpole