C2/C3/206 Throttle fail
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    286

    Default C2/C3/206 Throttle fail

    Hi Cit fits,
    After much ado with my Lexia I managed to repair my c2s sensodrive. However celebrations were short lived as now the throttle pedal is all but dead. Lexia points to throttle body. Replaced both pedal and throttle body with known good units. No change. Cabling and connectors all look ok. Same throttle body fault. Tried clearing old faults but they come back. Any ideas? Same basic set up as 1.6 C3 and pug 206.
    Both Pedals will ever so slightly respond to movement blipping the rpms from idle to 900-1100 but won't even hold it at that..
    Before I concede defeat and take it to someone would like any last ditch suggestions please ..
    BTW for anyone in Canberra, is Bill MacNamara still on the spanners?
    Thanks

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts Ken W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    1,925

    Default

    You have the potentiometer on the end of the throttle cable that gets read by the ecu, the ECU and wiring that goes to the throttle body. I think you are on the right track - the NFU engine is notorious for this fault. We could get our xsara with an NFU going by cleaning the throttle body and cable connectors with electrical clean and lube and then zip tying it together so it couldn't move with engine movement. That would last for a few months and eventually we sold it. Good luck - there might be some others who have persevered more to get a more reliable solution.

    Cheers, Ken

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken W View Post
    You have the potentiometer on the end of the throttle cable that gets read by the ecu, the ECU and wiring that goes to the throttle body. I think you are on the right track - the NFU engine is notorious for this fault. We could get our xsara with an NFU going by cleaning the throttle body and cable connectors with electrical clean and lube and then zip tying it together so it couldn't move with engine movement. That would last for a few months and eventually we sold it. Good luck - there might be some others who have persevered more to get a more reliable solution.

    Cheers, Ken
    Thanks for that Ken
    As it so happens I gently dremmeled the pins on the black connector to the engine fuse box just today. This was my last ditch attempt. They appeared a bit glazed and a bit of surface stuff scraped off ..but with no change. I have also bypassed the LHD to rhd extension cable. No go..

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger! tractionfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    280

    Default

    I had a similar problem with my berlingo. it wouldn't go past 80 k's and idled at about 2000 revs. I took the throttle body off and cleaned it and all the terminals and as many earth cables as I could. So far so good.

  5. #5
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tractionfan View Post
    I had a similar problem with my berlingo. it wouldn't go past 80 k's and idled at about 2000 revs. I took the throttle body off and cleaned it and all the terminals and as many earth cables as I could. So far so good.
    Thanks for that. Not sure the problem is that similar but I will check my earths none the less.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Henty NSW Australaia
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Bill is still on the spanners, he was going for a holiday, may already be back..

  7. #7
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Thanks for that..hes a hard man to get in touch with sometimes
    Quote Originally Posted by Biker View Post
    Bill is still on the spanners, he was going for a holiday, may already be back..

  8. #8
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Alhantos did you mean this relay?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails C2/C3/206 Throttle fail-image1.jpg  

  9. #9
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Faulconbridge
    Posts
    2,481

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 2bxornot2bx View Post
    Alhantos did you mean this relay?
    That's the one,Andy.

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alhantos View Post
    That's the one,Andy.
    Thanks Andy. I'll see if I can rustle one up for next to nothing

  11. #11
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Okay so the problem was not the fuel pump/multi relay ..
    Running out of things in that circuit to replace. Guess it's time to hand it over to Bill Mac.. Good money after bad right now.

  12. #12
    Fellow Frogger! Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    MAITLAND NSW AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    617

    Default

    Hi,

    Is your car the 1.4 litre engine?

    If it is, then open open up the big connectors on the Engine BSI (3) that are on the drivers side of the battery, under a seperate cover, and see if there is any coolant around the terminals under the connectors.

    If there is then that's your problem.

    It has nothing to do with the throttle body, its the coolant on the connectors thats causing the faults.

    The engine will start and idle, but no acceleration.

    The cause of the coolant there, is, its being pumped through the engine wiring harness, from one of two sources, either its the coolant temp sender, which has broken down, and pumping coolant into the harness (the connectors are waterproof both externally and internally), or on a few vehicles, they have an electronic thermostat, and the housing has failed, and its pumping coolant through the connector.

    Either way, if you have coolant at the engine BSI, disconnecting the sockets will show coolant in the plug.

    The socket for the electronic thermostat is hidden under the thermostat housing, making it initially difficult to find.

    Let me know how you get on,

    Best regards,

    Greg
    We Have:
    C5 HDI Exclusive 2.7 '09, Pluriel '09, Berlingo 1.6 HDI '10, C4 VTS coupe. C4 Picasso '08, 2CV Charleston '84 Grey, 2CV, '55 Australian delivered. 15/6 H '55, SM '74 BVM, DS21 EFI BVH, DS21 '67 BVH.
    We Had:
    1930C6F, '73 GS1220 wagon X 2, '75 G special, '75 GS panel van, '74 GS Birotor, '82 GSA panel van with factory AC, '85 CX25GTI BVM, 2002 C5 V6, 2006, C5 S2 HDI, '86 BX19GT, '72 DS21 BVM, '55 15/6H, '54 Lt 15,'73 Dyane, '82 Visa Super X, with Chrono Mecs & factory AC, 1972 SM.

  13. #13
    1000+ Posts Ken W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    1,925

    Default

    Greg, Is that the engine ECU you are referring to? Cheers, Ken

  14. #14
    Fellow Frogger! Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    MAITLAND NSW AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    617

    Default

    Yes..... Same same?

    ECU is probably a better description :-))

    best regards,

    Greg
    We Have:
    C5 HDI Exclusive 2.7 '09, Pluriel '09, Berlingo 1.6 HDI '10, C4 VTS coupe. C4 Picasso '08, 2CV Charleston '84 Grey, 2CV, '55 Australian delivered. 15/6 H '55, SM '74 BVM, DS21 EFI BVH, DS21 '67 BVH.
    We Had:
    1930C6F, '73 GS1220 wagon X 2, '75 G special, '75 GS panel van, '74 GS Birotor, '82 GSA panel van with factory AC, '85 CX25GTI BVM, 2002 C5 V6, 2006, C5 S2 HDI, '86 BX19GT, '72 DS21 BVM, '55 15/6H, '54 Lt 15,'73 Dyane, '82 Visa Super X, with Chrono Mecs & factory AC, 1972 SM.

  15. #15
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Hi Ken
    Not a 1.4. But the 1.6.
    In order to check engine bay fuse box I've had to rip off all the connections to remove ECU and other electrical hubs. My absolute last ditch effort will be liberally spraying of all plugs and connectors before reassembly.
    Next step is a phone call to the local fix it guy

  16. #16
    Fellow Frogger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    9,771

    Default

    It's a 1.6 if mated to Sensodrive in our market. Agree, check for coolant weeping at the temp sensor on the end of the head as the original sensors were somewhat prone to cracking of the case and leakage into the engine harness. Though, you might have expected to see some kind of cooling fault with that. Have you checked or changed the spark plugs? Regap them and maybe, try another coil pack?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •