Post disappeared
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 13 of 13
Like Tree8Likes
  • 6 Post By jo proffi
  • 2 Post By gerrypro

Thread: Post disappeared

  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    289

    Default Post disappeared

    I posted a for sale post. It has disappeared.. It had 5 replies. Who is the admin I can contact ?

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    19,095

    Default

    Show Groups - aussiefrogs - The Australian French Car Forum Since 1999

    Choose a candidate from here.

    However I agree that it's not obvious who moderates for Sale forums.

  3. #3
    Administrator GreenBlood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    8,184

    Icon3

    Quote Originally Posted by 2bxornot2bx View Post
    I posted a for sale post. It has disappeared.. It had 5 replies. Who is the admin I can contact ?
    I may be able to help, I can only find one ad for a BX TRS of yours? It shows that you deleted it
    I can re-instate if you wish. . .



    Cheers
    Chris
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Post disappeared-bx-ad.jpg  
    74 D(very Special) >>Rejuvenation Thread<<
    08 C5 X7 HDi very Noir



    "Déesse" Roland Barthes, 'Mythologies', 1957

    The Déesse has all the characteristics of one of those objects fallen from another universe that fed the mania for novelty in the eighteenth century and a similar mania expressed by modern science fiction: the Déesse is first and foremost the new Nautilus.

    (Umberto Eco [Ed], The History of Beauty, Rizzoli, NY, 2004)

  4. #4
    BVH Roger Wilkinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warrnambool
    Posts
    2,345

    Default

    If you delete the first post the whole thread is deleted.

    Roger

  5. #5
    1000+ Posts jo proffi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    sydney
    Posts
    8,413

    Default

    Post disappeared??
    Did someone take a fence??
    JohnW, WLB, XM Mechanic and 3 others like this.

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts gerrypro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Camperdown 3260 Australia
    Posts
    3,069

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jo proffi View Post
    Post disappeared??
    Did someone take a fence??
    No, but with jokes like that someone will take offence!
    jaahn and Kenfuego like this.
    Cheers Gerry

  7. #7
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    289

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GreenBlood View Post
    I may be able to help, I can only find one ad for a BX TRS of yours? It shows that you deleted it
    I can re-instate if you wish. . .



    Cheers
    Chris
    Yes please!!
    I must have done it by accident when trying to upload some quick pix.

  8. #8
    Administrator GreenBlood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    8,184

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 2bxornot2bx View Post
    Yes please!!
    I must have done it by accident when trying to upload some quick pix.
    All good now. . .

    Cheers
    Chris
    74 D(very Special) >>Rejuvenation Thread<<
    08 C5 X7 HDi very Noir



    "Déesse" Roland Barthes, 'Mythologies', 1957

    The Déesse has all the characteristics of one of those objects fallen from another universe that fed the mania for novelty in the eighteenth century and a similar mania expressed by modern science fiction: the Déesse is first and foremost the new Nautilus.

    (Umberto Eco [Ed], The History of Beauty, Rizzoli, NY, 2004)

  9. #9
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2,622

    Default

    Hi BX
    Perhaps the site may have done it. I just had potentially the same happen as i was editing a for sale post. The edit window came up empty and the delete option was the only thing available at a glance. SOO I pressed the back button and got 'the resource limit has been reached' message
    Perhaps because of the streached resources the stuff went to the "cloud bin" and you pressed a button which it accepted as OK ??
    Jaahn

  10. #10
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    19,095

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jaahn View Post
    Hi BX
    Perhaps the site may have done it. I just had potentially the same happen as i was editing a for sale post. The edit window came up empty and the delete option was the only thing available at a glance. SOO I pressed the back button and got 'the resource limit has been reached' message
    Perhaps because of the streached resources the stuff went to the "cloud bin" and you pressed a button which it accepted as OK ??
    Jaahn
    Deleting a post requires a four step process

    1) Go advanced

    2) Edit

    3) Delete

    4) Delete this post

    Which makes it almost impossible unintentionally delete a post.

    So I'm with GB

  11. #11
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    289

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GreenBlood View Post
    All good now. . .

    Cheers
    Chris
    Thanks everyone

  12. #12
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2,622

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robmac View Post
    Deleting a post requires a four step process
    1) Go advanced
    2) Edit
    3) Delete
    4) Delete this post
    Which makes it almost impossible unintentionally delete a post.
    So I'm with GB
    Hi Rob
    I slightly disagree My point being that the site may have imperfectly reloaded and left some instruction steps behind, because of the Resource limit etc intervention, so the next input MAY BE mis-interperated and cause a delete ! Just saying, because as we all know, anything is possible in a computer stuff-up
    Jaahn

  13. #13
    1000+ Posts robmac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Melbourne / Caulfield
    Posts
    19,095

    Default

    The "resource limit" message is not a software glitch, it's a connection issue. The ISP has run out connectivity allowance at that instant.
    So forum software is likely working perfectly OK.
    And a missed "button" press is likely to result in an operation not happening, rather than spontaneously happening.

    During the time I worked on a software support desk I've seen user error being presented from all angles.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •