Citroen DS headlight switch testing
  • Register
  • Help
    Tadpole

Default Citroen DS headlight switch testing

Hi,

I'm new to Citroens but I do have some experience with other classic cars. I'm trying to help a friend figuring out why the headlights on his DS are not working. I started with testing the switch. While testing it, with the ignition turned off and the switch in the off position I have 12v on all wires except the yellow one. That one showed 6v. Is that the way it is supposed to be?

Advertisement

I've attached an image of the back of the switch in case there are different versions.

Cheers,

Wim

Citroen DS headlight switch testing-img_0985.jpg

Fellow Frogger!

Hi from the UK Wim.

If you've found your way to the switch and the yellow wire, then I assume you're ruling out a blown fuse as the problem? Equally ruling out dirty connections at the fuse? The switch looks to be from a 1969 or later car. If you download a pdf of volume 1 of Manual 814, you will find a circuit diagram for the various versions/ years of cars.

There was a thread here on Aussie frogs some time ago that looked at wiring problems and included headlights. It was called "DS21 dashboard". it covers a lot of messages but eventually gets round to discussing headlamp wiring connections.

Yes, see here.
    Yellow goes to the relay for high beam.
    If it shows 6V... it could be that the relay was bypassed and the wire can't carry enough current - hence the drop in tension.

Except... you say you have tension on all wires with the switch in the off position?
    You should have 12V on the black wire, and then get it on the other ones as you turn it accordingly - they go directly to the lights, except the yellow one that goes to the high beam relay.

Tadpole

Quote Originally Posted by Don B. Cilly View Post
    Yes, see here.
    Yellow goes to the relay for high beam.