c5 fan control module
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By KimHowe
  • 1 Post By jaahn

Thread: c5 fan control module

  1. #1
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Fremantle
    Posts
    16

    Icon7 c5 fan control module

    New aircon fan controller from china $42 delivered ,lets see how long it lasts.

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger! dimistyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, QLD
    Posts
    889

    Default

    As long as the genuine one as that's where it was made
    Factory may have changed thou! Post the supplier so we have future reference.

    Sent from my GT-I9195T using aussiefrogs mobile app

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger! JAJEA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Essendon
    Posts
    660

    Default

    I think that the current controller in my C5 is a Chinese one, not sure because I changed it so many times until I woke up what the problem was.

    Check out previous posts on this subject.

    The issue is not the controller but the terminals!

    John


    Quote Originally Posted by ipodz View Post
    New aircon fan controller from china $42 delivered ,lets see how long it lasts.

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger! ScotFrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Elphinstone Victoria
    Posts
    535

    Default

    With the start of hot weather in Melbourne mine has gone on the blink AGAIN!

    SF

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Mole Creek Tasmania
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Mine only cost $21.99 delivered. I'm still waiting for it. I also bought 6 of the Mosfets and I'll be having a go at repairing the old one shortly.
    dimistyle likes this.

  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger! dimistyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, QLD
    Posts
    889

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KimHowe View Post
    Mine only cost $21.99 delivered. I'm still waiting for it. I also bought 6 of the Mosfets and I'll be having a go at repairing the old one shortly.
    Kim let us all know how you go with the soldering skills with the Mosfets and take some pics. I don't have this issue yet but I'm sure I will

    Sent from my GT-I9195T using aussiefrogs mobile app

  7. #7
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2,623

    Default

    Hi
    You know I had my early C5 for quite a few years and experienced most of the inherent problems detailed on AFs BUT never this problem with the fan controller. Does that mean there was at least one person in the supply chain who could get them assembled right. Keep praying he did yours

    I had bookmarked the method of repairing it, as given on AFs but that was one repair I did not have to do !! I also threw away a good complete fan/ac/heater unit with the controller (and other stuff) as NOBODY WANTED IT after a year or more in the for sale section. People never look ahead
    Jaahn
    Last edited by jaahn; 21st December 2016 at 11:05 AM.
    shanadoo likes this.

  8. #8
    Fellow Frogger! JAJEA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Essendon
    Posts
    660

    Default

    PS: You will be lucky for it to last one season if you do not attend to the terminals. Nevertheless, you may be lucky that your terminals are OK. But have a look at the size/capacity of those cables going into the controller and within the control unit is 1/8" spade terminals. The two don't add up. Check out previous threads.

    Regards,

    John

    Quote Originally Posted by JAJEA View Post
    I think that the current controller in my C5 is a Chinese one, not sure because I changed it so many times until I woke up what the problem was.

    Check out previous posts on this subject.

    The issue is not the controller but the terminals!

    John

  9. #9
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hampton Park
    Posts
    523

    Default

    I have just repaired a controller on 406 the one that is about the size of a cigarette packet
    The input power terminals were "dry" so a clean up of the terminals and a trailer has fixed the problem
    I checked a spare I had and same problem

    Sent from my F1f using aussiefrogs mobile app

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hampton Park
    Posts
    523

    Default

    That's resolder not trailer

    Sent from my F1f using aussiefrogs mobile app

  11. #11
    Fellow Frogger! JAJEA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Essendon
    Posts
    660

    Default

    Yes, dry solder joints because of poor terminal contacts and they get hot to the point of melting the solder. Dry joints not because of poor manufacture as I had thought the first time.

    The second time it failed, the fact that I had personally re-soldered those joints I looked elsewhere for the problem (and it was not that mosfet).

    Check out previous posts.

    John

    Quote Originally Posted by Sherman View Post
    That's resolder not trailer

    Sent from my F1f using aussiefrogs mobile app

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •