• Help
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Roger Wilkinson
  • 2 Post By mberry
  • 1 Post By badabec

Thread: D special: front end renewal

Fellow Frogger!

Default D special: front end renewal

I am just beginning preparations to dismantle the front end of my d special.

The main purpose, on the principal advice of DS motors, is as follows:

- remove and recondition or replace the steering rack;
    - remove and replace the camshaft pulley (rivets are worn);
    - replace camshaft oil seal (weeping);
    - replace steel LHM line between the HP pump and regulator (ends weeping).

Secondary purpose is a general clean up of hard to get to areas, including steering arms, suspension linkage, etc. Plus aesthetic items such as blasting and repainting cross bars, air filter housing, wheel brace, and the like. Whilst I am at it, I am guessing that it would be timely to flush the radiator, replace water pump & radiator hoses, flush and clean LHM tank, replace things like belts and speedo cable housing etc etc.

I am planning for the week of 2-9 July to mess around on this. A couple of years ago I wouldn't have even dreamed of tackling this myself. But I have been much encouraged by others.

One question I have is the camshaft oil seal. I have assumed this is the seal behind the pulley. But then both DS motors and Paris motors have mentioned that this is a "gearbox out" job and it would make sense to wait until the clutch needs replacing before doing it. I don't understand this suggestion. Can anyone explain (in layman's language)?

Also, is there anything else I should be considering? Am I mad???

AM

Advertisement
    Last edited by ajaxvte; 10th June 2016 at 09:42 AM. Reason: correct terminology!

If your rack is original, I would have a darned good look at it before swapping for a reconditioned unit. You may be exchanging a better prospect for refurbishment, than anything received. Plus, it helps keep the car more original...