Instrument cluster warning lights
  • Register
  • Help
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By Ken W
  • 2 Post By agd123

Thread: Instrument cluster warning lights

  1. #1
    WRB
    WRB is offline
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Burwood Vic
    Posts
    558

    Default Instrument cluster warning lights

    Hi,

    I am still after about 6 of these with the twist in plugs. last year I ordered some from Der Franzose as they had them listed as fitting the CX as well as D cars. (They are too big so, if anybody wants them let me know) If anyone has any sitting around or in a parts car I would like to buy them (a working early Yeager clock would be nice too)

    Just a note on Der Fransoze - All I ordered from them was the lights. They would have fitted in the smallest padded bag available but, they arrived in a largish box with a 2CV catalogue included. This was about 1/3 the thickness of a telephone book and they charged me the full postage on it!!!


    cheers
    Warren

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Now go make me a sandwich Hotrodelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    3,508

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WRB View Post
    Hi,

    I am still after about 6 of these with the twist in plugs. last year I ordered some from Der Franzose as they had them listed as fitting the CX as well as D cars. (They are too big so, if anybody wants them let me know) If anyone has any sitting around or in a parts car I would like to buy them (a working early Yeager clock would be nice too)
    Try a Volvo or Saab from the '70's ->. I think the sockets are the same. The D and CX sockets IIRC are the same fit, just the design is different.

    Quote Originally Posted by WRB View Post
    Just a note on Der Fransoze - All I ordered from them was the lights. They would have fitted in the smallest padded bag available but, they arrived in a largish box with a 2CV catalogue included. This was about 1/3 the thickness of a telephone book and they charged me the full postage on it!!!


    cheers
    Warren
    Yah, that was one of the reasons I'm not particularly hurt they decided to abandon the US market. I remember ordering some terminals from them, and not only did they take entirely too long to get here (over a month), but I paid a lot of money for postage that wasn't necessary. The French and the Dutch are by far and away cheaper shipping-wise.
    The measure of your character isn't what you do when people are watching- it's what you do when they aren't watching.

  3. #3
    1000+ Posts Ken W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    1,892

    Default

    If you have strong fingers, you can pull the lamps out of the twist in sockets and buy replacements for them from Repco. I think Narva have then as a standard lamp. Also Jaycar sell a 12 volt LED version in red, green, blue and white but they are pretty bright and you have to put them in the right way around.

    Cheers, Ken
    Hotrodelectric and shanadoo like this.

  4. #4
    WRB
    WRB is offline
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Burwood Vic
    Posts
    558

    Default

    I did discover that new bulbs are available but, the sockets are too large, by quite a bit, to fit into the holes in the pcb. The original sockets are missing.

  5. #5
    Now go make me a sandwich Hotrodelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California, USA
    Posts
    3,508

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ken W View Post
    If you have strong fingers, you can pull the lamps out of the twist in sockets and buy replacements for them from Repco. I think Narva have then as a standard lamp. Also Jaycar sell a 12 volt LED version in red, green, blue and white but they are pretty bright and you have to put them in the right way around.

    Cheers, Ken
    Yah- they're called wedge base.

    You need 6, WRB? I might have a few DS style sockets I can post you. PM me. The socket- are they approx 6mm in diameter, or the 4mm? I forget which ones a CX takes.
    The measure of your character isn't what you do when people are watching- it's what you do when they aren't watching.

  6. #6
    1000+ Posts Ken W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Brisbane
    Posts
    1,892

    Default

    Well then you need to find a bloke who has a few CX instrument panels that are a bit surplus then - like me. Which bulbs are you missing ?

    Cheers, Ken

  7. #7
    WRB
    WRB is offline
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Burwood Vic
    Posts
    558

    Default

    Hi Ken,
    6 All together - headlight on, high beam, water temp (!!), etc. They are all the same black twist in plugs.
    I will pm my address if you have them. I would be very grateful. Would you have a working early yeager clock - if so, please let me know what you would want for it.

    thanks

    Warren

  8. #8
    Real cars have hydraulics DoubleChevron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Ballarat,Vic,Aust.
    Posts
    16,318

    Default

    Oh, I was going to send some of them to you. I'll see if I can find some new globes for the bases here at the sunday market tomorrow. They are T5 globes from memory
    'Cit' homepage:
    Citroen Workshop
    Proper cars--
    '85 Series II CX2500 GTi Turbo I
    '63 ID19 http://www.aussiefrogs.com/forum/citro%EBn-forum/90325-best-project-car-you-have-ever-seen.html
    '72 DS21 ie 5spd pallas (last looked at ... about 15years ago)
    '78 GS1220 pallas
    '92 Range Rover Classic ... 5spd manual.

    Yay ... No Slugomatics


    Modern Junk:
    '07 Poogoe 407 HDi 6spd manual

  9. #9
    WRB
    WRB is offline
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Burwood Vic
    Posts
    558

    Default

    Thank you Shane

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    canberra
    Posts
    167

    Default

    I had a problem with a Xantia quite some time ago, correct lamps were outrageously priced & hard to get. However what I did find after some checking, several of the lamps that were not working were not blown. The problem was bad contact between the lamp base & the copper tracks into which they fit. I got some leds red, green, white, etc as appropriate, added an appropriate value resister to each to protect the lamp & then soldered them in permanently, directly onto the copper tracks (after cleaning & applying electronic flux, not plumber's flux) . Worked a treat & you can vary the brightness by altering the value of the resister. This will outlast the car probably, cost next to nothing, but took some time to do it right.

    agd123
    shanadoo and WRB like this.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •