Like Tree8Likes
  • 1 Post By berlingogo
  • 1 Post By berlingogo
  • 2 Post By cav91
  • 3 Post By berlingogo
  • 1 Post By jaahn

Thread: Changed head gasket now engine won't fire up - any ideas? 2002 Berlingo

Tadpole

Default Changed head gasket now engine won't fire up - any ideas? 2002 Berlingo

Hi

I am a bit of a novice and have just changed the head gasket, including having the head machined, on my 2002 Berlingo. Have spent way more time getting the job done than it would take someone who was competent!

Have put everything back together and was excited to start her up. First attempt, the battery had gone flat.

Charged battery, engine turns over but it won't fire up

After a few tries, I noticed that I had failed to connect the hose (that looks similar to the fuel hose) at the rear of the inlet manifold. Connected it up and tried again. Still no luck.

I have since pulled off and reseated the ignition coil and inspected the spark plugs. I had also not connected a sensor on the lower oil filter housing (the metal part that bolts to the engine block). That has now been reconnected.

Still won't start.

Advertisement

Any ideas.

Michael

Berlingo 2002
    1.4 Petrol KFW engine

Did you completely remove the inlet manifold or just push it back a bit? I'd be checking everything is plugged in properly. Mainly the coil, ecu and the big injector loom plug in the back of the manifold (very easily missed)
    Last edited by cav91; 30th October 2015 at 10:08 AM.
    2011 Renault Koleos manual petrol, yes it's boring, but not as boring as:
    2017 Renault Koleos auto