• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Checking out a 2CV. Advice needed

Fellow Frogger!

Default Checking out a 2CV. Advice needed

Hi everyone,

As time passes, I realise that I would like to own the wonderful Citroen 2CV.

Advertisement

I would like to get one that is in very good condition, with minimum work required.

So far, there is one that I have seen that I like but before checking it out in person, I wanted to get your thoughts on it.

There seem to oil from the the suspension and an oil leak developing. I have attached the pictures. Plus there seems to be a little rust in the front floor. Are these any cause for concern?

Your guidance is much appreciated and as a novice, I am willing to learn. Thanks!!!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Checking out a 2CV. Advice needed-image.jpg   Checking out a 2CV. Advice needed-image.jpg   Checking out a 2CV. Advice needed-image.jpg  

Fellow Frogger!

And here are two more pictures for your reference. Thanks.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Checking out a 2CV. Advice needed-image.jpg   Checking out a 2CV. Advice needed-image.jpg  
    Last edited by gsowner84; 31st August 2015 at 01:48 AM. Reason: Additional photo

Real cars have hydraulics DoubleChevron's Avatar

Contact David Gries and see if he can look at it for you. You have pictured the interconnecting spring. The way to stop it squeaking is to add oil into that tube.

The important bit is the cars structure. engine oil leaks etc.... simply shouldn't be relevant. You can whip a 2cv engine out in your lunch hour and throw it under one arm to carry inside and work on

Chassis rust is far more important. David will know how to check the chassis and make sure it doesn't need a new chassis fitted (not a big deal, but it will be very expensive to pay someone to do it).

The chassis will rust from the inside out... so you can't readily check it unless you know how.

seeya,
    Shane L.
    David M likes this.