What can you do????
  • Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 Last

Default What can you do????

I have been driving the Xantia for 6 years now, and it's really been a great little car, and very reliable. I have had a few little issues with it , all of which were able to be overcome with a little patience and effort, and some occasional help from Aussie Froggers, and especially Peter Dekker of the CCCV, thanks Pete.
    For about a year or so I have been wondering what car to replace it with, when the time comes. I have searched and searched the carsales site, the cars for sale here, and Ebay.
    Last week , I saw an ad for a series one C5, and yes, I've read heaps of threads here about all kinds of problems some people have had with this very car.
    BTW...one of the best cars I've ever had was a Falcon EA Wagon, which everyone canned as being a LEMON when it came out. Mine was just fantastic.
    Anyway, this C5 was advertised at a reasonable price, looked to be in pretty good condition, and was not far away ( the ad said it was in MY suburb) so I called the guy, he said come and have a look.
    This guy is Russian, and his job requires him to move to Germany in one week, so he must sell the car. It's got Victorian Rego till next August, and is in pretty smicky condition. EVERYTHING looks good, EVERYTHING works, and he has had everything done in the last 12 months, new cam belt, new hydraulics, new brakes, new tyres, and he has all the reciepts. He has also had a RWC first inspection, all it requires for a RWC is a new number plate globe, one headlight either repaired or replaced, and one new rubber boot on a drive shaft.

Advertisement

So I grabbed it.