Worn Topic, but CX aircon
  • Register
  • Help

Default Worn Topic, but CX aircon

Hi All,

Advertisement

It dosent get too hot in NZ but naturally i have noticed inside the 1977 CX it can get hot. I have read many threads on the aircon system in the CX and peoples attempts (and successes) in installing aftermarket jobs including rear mounted condensers.

My question is whether it is possible to without too much hassle source and install the factory aircon system to my car, in order to alleviate just a bit of that heat.

I have also read that tinting can help, but i don't want to look like i sing for a living.

thanks for your input.

Cheers

I have found that a lot of heat can be eliminated by wrapping the central muffler in heat insulating exhaust bandage. The other cause of concern on the early cars is the effectiveness of the heater tap. It can be overhauled to prevent hot coolant circulating in the heater core. The addition of a Holden type inline vacuum tap is also useful. I operate mine from the lead that switches the vacuum controlled recirculation tap. In this way the heater core is positively isolated when the Aircon is under its most difficult operating conditions. ( Full rear position of the air direction lever on the console.
    BTW there is nothing wrong with singing for a living!!!!
    Cheers Gerry

Real cars have hydraulics DoubleChevron's Avatar

Your biggest problem by far will be the heat transfer through the windscreen if you happen to be driving into the sun. You could have the inside of the car a nice balmy 15degrees C and still be sweltering like you sitting in a hot house under that big pane of glass. My wifes poogoe 407 is every bit as bad!

The other issues are:
    a) huge heat soak into the firewall and floors
    b) sealing of the heater tower, it's no good having A/C if the ventilation is sucking 100degree underbonnet air
    c)pathetic airflwo through the evaporator. you simply can't get enough cooling air into the car.

seeya,