CX Douvrin questions
  • Register
  • Help

Default CX Douvrin questions

As a kid with a father as a motor mechanic, I got to see lots of different cars pass though our backyard shed. He did a bit of W/E work for family and friends. Most of the cars were easily forgettable Australian, British and Japanese stuff. Until a family friend brought in his privately imported CX, when he immigratted from Great Britain. Its exterior styling caught my eye immediattely. But it was sitting inside that futuristic cockpit and trying to understand those strage dials/drums, that is still burned in my memory.

Anyway my memory 30 years later is of my father having to remove the head to replace some valves due to a broken cam belt. So from then on till only a few years ago I just assumed that all the Australian delivered CX's had the same engine. On seeing CX's recently and looking at the spark access the through the valve cover, well it just reinforced that it was an overhead cam engine (Yes I know Chrysler hemis have spark plug access through the valve cover).

So my question is was the Douvrin engine used only for some markets or specific CX models? Was a turbo version used in the CX?. Was the Douvrin engine used in the CX to justify PSA's investment in it as it seems that the older generation OHV engine was used right till the end of the CX's life.

Advertisement

As usual Im happy to be correctted for any errors I've made.

Fellow Frogger!