• Help
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By UFO
  • 1 Post By michaelr
  • 1 Post By Mort Subite
  • 1 Post By Trading Estate

Thread: now I see what influenced the DS styling

Default now I see what influenced the DS styling

This is the 1952 Muntz Jet. An american car. It has some similarities to the DS don't you think? though the Muntz was first.

there were a couple of hundred made

Advertisement

even the same colours

food for thought.

I wouldn't mind a Muntz Jet in my garage.

cheers Tony

Agreed that one can see/make out similarities but to say/infer that the D "resulted" from the Muntz Jet is another story.

Whilst I'm new to the classic Citroen, I do know that the D goes far beyond styling to have any association with the Muntz.

Others that know of the history of the D may be able to comments as to its evolution D.

Nevertheless, I too like it.

JAJEA

Administrator

Quote Originally Posted by JAJEA View Post
    Agreed that one can see/make out similarities but to say/infer that the D "resulted" from the Muntz Jet is another story.

Whilst I'm new to the classic Citroen, I do know that the D goes far beyond styling to have any association with the Muntz.

Others that know of the history of the D may be able to comments as to its evolution D.

Nevertheless, I too like it.

JAJEA
    I've always seen philosophical similarities between the early Tatra 77's and 87's that predated the DS by a decade.

UFO

Bertoni and Lefebvre were working on a successor to the Traction Avant as early as 1948, and drawings exist showing how the shape was evolving. The aerodynamic styling of the DS stems more from Lefebvre's background in aeronautical design - Bertoni translated ideas and applied his own styling.