Looking at A BX19GT
  • Help
    don

Default Looking at A BX19GT

HI all Im looking at a BX19GT for $2400 and would appreciate a heads up on what to look for Problems that develop etc.

Advertisement

I am fairly new to the BX but will attempt to answer your question. I think the BX is a fantastic car and seeming well designed and pretty rugged. The car you look at will probably have lots of degraded plastic parts but mechanical and body is not such a problem. Obviously look for rust in the usual places plus around the front door hinges on the A pillar.

The rear trailing arm bearings can wear. Symptoms are that the rear develops negative camber and the top of the wheels can rub on the inner guards. These bearings are replaceable but apparently not a fun job.

Leaking heater matrix is a big job to replace like any car... check it works and has not been disconnected or that the floor is not wet.

The heater valve is mounted on the firewall near the exhaust manifold and the pipe fittings on the engine side can become brittle and snap off. Check that the heater hoses are pliable as if they are not they will exacerbate the problem.

The number one cause for BX early retirement is that the rubber and plastic hydraulic return hose system, often referred to as the "octopus", becomes frail and can develop multiple leaks. The original part will be hard to find but a replacement can be fabricated from readily available tubes and tee pieces. The problem is it involves many hours of dirty work.

There is a lot of good BX advice to be found on bxclub.co.uk and using the AussieFrogs search facility.

Good luck with the car. Please post some pics whether you buy it or not!
    Michael
    Member, Citroen Car Club NSW

DS23 Pallas 5 sp. "Francoise" , BX19TRi Auto "Jacques Dutronc" , Teardrop Trailer "The Toad", BMW R65 "Rosamund"
    In the past: Renault 750, Dauphine, R4, R8, R10, Peugeot 504 Familiale, ID 19 (x2), Safari (x2)

Oh! One more thing