CX Dash Cluster Circuit Board
  • Help
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    58

    Default CX Dash Cluster Circuit Board

    The oil pressure guage in my CX isn't working & my service guy says the whole circuit board needs to be replaced but he can't find a "new" board.

    Advertisement


    Does anyone know where I might get a replacement board?

    Are the boards repairable? Does anyone know who could repair the board in Melbourne?

    The only guage that doesn't work is the oil pressure guage but I wouldn't mind getting it working.

    Any suggestions?

    Herby

  2. #2
    Tadpole
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    24

    Default

    an indication of what CX (series 1/2) and what cluster it is (series 1 had Jaeger and Veglia) might help.

    I haven't worked on the dash cluster itself, but have seen some pics/info on it, also from someone who took it totally apart. Connections on the back are not very solid. I would say you could just check the connections on and around the gauge yourself. Sometimes proper ground is not good on the cluster.
    Also, you can probably replace just the pressure gauge by itself if that part is broken.

    but do you know for sure it is not related to a faulty pressure sensor under the hood ?? fragile part I believe.....
    and then there is the great quality wiring and connections on CXs.......
    just a few thoughts.....

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Hi CX thanks for the reply.
    The car is a 1984 CX Gti 2500 manual. I don't have it here, it's at the mechanic's, so not sure which brand the instruments are.
    I'm fairly sure the problem is the cluster board as the mechanis has told me so and he's a very experienced Cit mechanic.
    Heerby

  4. #4
    1000+ Posts gerrypro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Camperdown 3260 Australia
    Posts
    3,166

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HERBYJ View Post
    The oil pressure guage in my CX isn't working & my service guy says the whole circuit board needs to be replaced but he can't find a "new" board.

    Does anyone know where I might get a replacement board?

    Are the boards repairable? Does anyone know who could repair the board in Melbourne?

    The only guage that doesn't work is the oil pressure guage but I wouldn't mind getting it working.

    Any suggestions?

    Herby
    If you can identify the broken tracks it is possible to by pass the breaks by hard wiring with fine insulated single cor wire available from electronic hobby shops. Tandy used to sell the stuff but they are now gone. Perhaps Dick Smith may still sell electronic components.
    This is the approach that I was able to use successfully.
    Cheers Gerry

  5. #5
    Fellow Frogger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,195

    Default

    I do have a new printed circuit, but I think it's only for the 2400 to around 1980. I think you could probably repair what you have either by soldering in a jumper lead and/or looking into products to repair printed circuits. You can certainly buy a small bottle of a copper laden paint-like material to repair a heated window, but you might want to test the resistance across a test strip before assuming it will suit.

  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger! IE23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    749

    Default

    Herby, I have a reck, I'll check it today to see if everything is working and let you know. If it is we can discuss removal & collection of the circuit.


    Adrian

    _________________

    Current;

    Xantia V6 Exclusive Auto 2000


    Past;

    CX25 GTI Turbo series 1 1985
    DS23 IE Pallas 5sp 1974
    CX25ie Pallas Auto 1984 Parts
    2CV 1988
    CX25ie Pallas Auto 1984

  7. #7
    Fellow Frogger! Rob T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    133

    Default

    Herby,
    A couple of thoughts.
    Im not familiar with the later versions, but are you sure it's a pressure gauge. My 1981 car has an oil level gauge that is only active for a few seconds on start - and then drops back to zero. Mine still works and is 'nearly' accurate.

    I have 3 old instrument clusters here (all in poor condition) and they all have different circuit boards. None are the same as my 81 car. These are all Jaeger brand. Boards were also made by Veglia and they are different again. It seems that there are lots of variants.

    I have also made a minor repair to a track by soldering a light wire at each end. The copper track is reasonably sturdy and I didn't have a problem with melting the plastic backing. It can be done if you are quick and clean with the soldering. I have also cleaned the exposed ends of the copper. I use an old 'ink' eraser to clean the copper back to a bright shiny finish. You could also use a metal polish like Autosol as long as you take care.

    All of my instruments are still working. It just takes a little maintenance to keep the electrical connections clean.
    Robert Thorne
    Brisbane
    Citroenless - for now...

  8. #8
    Fellow Frogger! John P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Somerville, Victoria
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Herby, if you have a later series one car, you will have the same oil level/temp gauge that Rob T and I have. Those printed circuits were notoriously short-lived so finding a good one from a wreck is a lottery. I tried. The good news is that CX Basis now list them, presumably new old stock.
    2006 C5 2.0 HDI estate - daily driver
    1981 2CV - The Amelie project is complete.
    1930 C6F torpedo - My Great Folly! Project under way.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    58

    Default

    It is definitely the engine oil pressure gauge.
    Thanks John, I have bought some parts from CX Basis in the past but I couldn't see the printed circuit board on their website. Is it on the website? I know some of the parts aren't on the site and you have to email and enquire.
    Herby

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    58

    Default

    I'll have to work out whether it's a Jaeger or a Veglia board.
    Herby

  11. #11
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Faulconbridge
    Posts
    2,750

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HERBYJ View Post
    It is definitely the engine oil pressure gauge.
    Thanks John, I have bought some parts from CX Basis in the past but I couldn't see the printed circuit board on their website. Is it on the website? I know some of the parts aren't on the site and you have to email and enquire.
    Herby
    Hi, I had the same car until last year;85cxgtimanual,now have an 85cxpallasie. Neither car has an oil pressure gauge but both have a gauge showing oil level;this only shows momentarily when ignition first switched on then drops to zero.If yours has an oil pressure gauge then it is an after market fitting.Andy.

  12. #12
    Fellow Frogger! John P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Somerville, Victoria
    Posts
    153

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HERBYJ View Post
    It is definitely the engine oil pressure gauge.
    Thanks John, I have bought some parts from CX Basis in the past but I couldn't see the printed circuit board on their website. Is it on the website? I know some of the parts aren't on the site and you have to email and enquire.
    Herby
    I just checked to confirm, Herby, and they are listed under "interior parts". Must be a recent listing because I only saw them for the first time last week. The trick will be ordering the correct one. Good luck.
    2006 C5 2.0 HDI estate - daily driver
    1981 2CV - The Amelie project is complete.
    1930 C6F torpedo - My Great Folly! Project under way.

  13. #13
    1000+ Posts Greg C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,304

    Default

    Hi Herby, I don't think the printed circuit board carries any of the circuit for the oil level gauge. Mine has two black wires connected the the terminals of the gauge, these go to a socket. There is a plug again with black wires that goes to the sensor. From what I have heard this is unreliable, mine has never worked.

    Repairing the circuit board is fairly easy if you are OK with a soldering iron, I use the tails from old resistors to bridge the gaps. I have finally got all the dashboard lights working but my circuit board is not a pretty site, plenty of repairs. If I can work out which one to order I will get a new one from CX basis for insurance though
    Mine

    CX Prestige
    Toyota Prius

    In the family

    Xantia SX

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •