C5 windscreen
  • Help
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: C5 windscreen

  1. #1
    Fellow Frogger! jlmdsims's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Geelong Victoria
    Posts
    136

    Default C5 windscreen

    Has anyone replaced a windscreen on a first series C5? I would appreciate any info that might help to minimise the pain.

    Advertisement

  2. #2
    Fellow Frogger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,192

    Default

    Yes, make sure you get the correct one as there are two different arrangements for the light/rain sensors. It's a fairly standard cut out and glue in job.

  3. #3
    Fellow Frogger! tasie C5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    St Helens Tasie
    Posts
    622

    Default

    My 2003 C5's windscreen was replaced without problem.

  4. #4
    Fellow Frogger! jlmdsims's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Geelong Victoria
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Could I get an idea of who you got to do the job and the price involved? Also, were your screens broken during driving, in the normal way? I ask because mine has a rapidly expanding crack that seems to have appeared out of nowhere.

    Thanks for the replies.

  5. #5
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    adelaide
    Posts
    154

    Default

    just make sure they fit the correct screen, auto lights and wipers require a screen with paint cutouts for the sensors.

  6. #6
    Fellow Frogger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,192

    Default

    I forget the cost, but it was of the order of $500. A crack is likely to spread from a small point of impact, so follow it and look for a defect. You can expect that a dealer will call in a mobile subcontractor to do the job, so you could ask them for a referral. Or ask a panel shop who they'd use to R&R glass during repairs and ask them for a quote. Check you insurance policy and see if it includes glass cover.

    Quote Originally Posted by tazzy View Post
    just make sure they fit the correct screen, auto lights and wipers require a screen with paint cutouts for the sensors.
    ... but some have two separate sensors and others have a single unit, which is what I probably didn't make clear enough before.

  7. #7
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Murwillumbah
    Posts
    384

    Default

    I had the screen replaced on my 02 wagon. I had paid extra $50 for windscreen cover on my insurance so the replacement cost me $0. It was replaced by windscreens O'Brien & I asked at the time what the cost would have been without insurance & was told about $800. cheers Dave

  8. #8
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Linton.Victoria.
    Posts
    1,282

    Default

    Hi-Call the crew at windscreen Power in Ballarat.They do Geelong or have their guys there-Kathy or Sue isthe Lady who runs it is either -Tell her that Peter from Linton said to give them a buzz.They probably do Kings Cit screens.

    DO NOT CALL WINDSCREEN'S O'BRIEN'S AS IT WILL HURT.

    If you have a screen on your policy it would be cheapest.

    Cheers,

    Pekay.

  9. #9
    Fellow Frogger!
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Murwillumbah
    Posts
    384

    Default

    I agree pekay49. I would not use WObrien only that my insurer uses them & I wasn't paying. cheers Dave

  10. #10
    Fellow Frogger! tasie C5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    St Helens Tasie
    Posts
    622

    Default

    Mine cost $700.00.

  11. #11
    Fellow Frogger! jlmdsims's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Geelong Victoria
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Better check my policy.

    Thanks again

  12. #12
    1000+ Posts
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2,799

    Default Windscreen banner ?

    Hi,
    Seems like a good place to ask a question about C5 windscreens. I am not enarmoured with the trend of having the windscreens extending so far over the occupants in our climate.

    I was considering putting a strip across the top of my windscreen on my C5 (and my other car) to prevent the sun beating in. I always have the visors down anyway so am interested in a permanant block. I will try some duct tape initially to see how it goes. There are sexier banners with logos etc available OS if I find it good. The extra hot days have spurred me on to actually do it.

    However I know the sensors are there in the middle, so can I get some advice on actually where they are so I can avoid covering them
    Jaahn

  13. #13
    Fellow Frogger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,192

    Default

    Look at the section in the top centre of the screen behind the mirror. That's where the sensors are, but there will also be a section either side of the mirror that has a different pattern to the rest of the screen. Those are designed for toll tags as that portion of the screen doesn't have the same coating that can supposedly interfere with the operation of those tags. Your banner could very soon read just "CI____EN" !

  14. #14
    Fellow Frogger! jlmdsims's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Geelong Victoria
    Posts
    136

    Default

    I got my windscreen done by Windscreen Power, as suggested by Pekay. They have a workshop in Geelong as well as Ballarat, Werribee and Cairns (?). Would have no hesitation using them again. Cost $360 for anyone who is interested.

    Thanks for the tip Pekay

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •