xsara starting issues???
  • Register
  • Help
    Tadpole

Default xsara starting issues???

Hi all, newbie here.Have recently bought a 2002 xsara 1.6, one owner with 128,000 kms.Great car and I love to drive her.One issue that I do have is that sometimes when I go to start her all I get when I turn the key to start is a quiet click and the dash warning lights go out. Now before you say battery I have had it checked out (the batt) and it is OK. So I turn the key to off and so far when I try to restart she fires up.This is only intermittant.I am thinking perhaps immobiliser issue or could it be something else? Is this a common fault?Anyway thanks in advance and I will continue to enjoy ma voiture francais!!

Advertisement

Fellow Frogger

Bad earth? Burnt contacts in ignition switch or starter solenoid? Overall, you'd normally think either battery or starter as it's not cranking properly. You just have to check everything logically.

How was the battery tested and how old is it? A professional load testing kit or just the battery voltage with a multimeter?

Tadpole

,Thanks for answering so promptly, I checked the earth wires and they are secure and look fine, the battery appears to be March 2011 and it was checked with a load testing kit and came up good.I have not checked the ignition switch as I don't know how to do that. The solenoid does not make that loud clicking sound that they usually do when they are bad.BTW I have just come back from driving her down the street and back and she started four times with no hesitation or problem. As I said it is a very intermittant problem and I am tempted to just let it go until it becomes a larger prob. What do you think??? Thanks again.

It may be that the positive battery post needs filing.
    The taper doesn't match the terminal.
    I had that in the Xantia, and now in the C5.
    2003 C5 2.0i AL4 205,000 km 76372389

Tadpole

Thanks I will have a look.

VIP Sponsor